Acting Appointments in Designated Public Office Holder Positions

Purpose of Bulletin

This interpretation bulletin is issued by the Commissioner under the authority of subsection 10(1) of the Lobbying Act (hereafter "the Act"). Its purpose is to provide the Commissioner's interpretation of acting appointments that may place individuals in designated public office holder positions for short periods of time. For purposes of this interpretation bulletin the term "acting" also refers to "interim" positions.

Legislative Context

The Federal Accountability Act (S.C. 2006, c.9) made a number of amendments to the Lobbyists Registration Act, including renaming it the Lobbying Act and introducing the term "designated public office holder" (DPOH). The Act and the Designated Public Office Holder Regulations designate a number of senior public officials as DPOHs. Across the public service, senior public office holder positions are known by varying titles. Subsection 2(1) of the Act, which lists those positions that will be included in the definition of "designated public office holder," captures this reality by including positions of "comparable rank" to associate deputy ministers and assistant deputy ministers. The Commissioner has issued an Interpretation Bulletin entitled "Interpretation of "Comparable Rank" for Designated Public Offices" that provides specific criteria to identify positions of comparable rank to the DPOH positions included in the definition of DPOH in the Lobbying Act and in the Designated Public Office Holder Regulations.

Acting Appointment Interpretation Approach

The Lobbying Act recognizes that there may be persons who are in DPOH positions on an "acting basis." As the Lobbying Act provides no specific provision defining an "acting" appointment in a DPOH position, the Commissioner of Lobbying is able to provide this interpretation.

In interpreting the term "on an acting basis," the Commissioner has taken an approach which sets out very specific criteria for easy identification of whether an acting appointment is a DPOH for purposes of the Lobbying Act, while allowing for the possibility of further, specific interpretations of any unique situations where doubt may remain about the DPOH status. In setting the criteria, the Commissioner interpreted that Parliament's intent was to designate those who:

  • hold positions which, by any title, have decision-making or advisory responsibilities at the Deputy Minister, Deputy Head, Associate Deputy Minister, Assistant Deputy Minister or comparable rank, and
  • are remunerated at least as much as the minimum salary of an Assistant Deputy Minister.

Conditions for Designating an Individual in an Acting Appointment as a DPOH

An individual in an acting appointment will be designated as a DPOH if both of the following conditions are present:

  • The acting position is a DPOH position as defined in the Lobbying Act, designated by regulation or is a position of comparable rank.
  • The duration of the acting appointment is longer than four consecutive months over a twelve month period.

If both of these conditions are present, the individual acting in such a position will be designated a DPOH, effective the day after the four month threshold is reached. They will be designated as a DPOH for as long as they hold the position.

In any case in which a department or agency considers that an acting appointment should not be designated as a DPOH, the Commissioner of Lobbying will consider the specific case when reasons are provided to the Commissioner in writing.

Designating acting appointments in DPOH positions will begin on May 4, 2009. Only acting appointments that began on or after this date (including extensions) will be considered for designation.

For further information, please contact:

Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying of Canada
Tel.: 613-957-2760
Fax: 613-957-3078
Email: questionslobbying@lobbycanada.gc.ca

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissioner of Lobbying
October 2009

Nominations intérimaires à des postes de titulaire d’une charge publique désignée

Objet du présent bulletin

La commissaire publie le présent bulletin d'interprétation en vertu du paragraphe 10(1) de la Loi sur le lobbying (ci-après appelée « la Loi »). Le but de celui-ci est de donner son interprétation concernent les nominations intérimaires qui conséquemment peut faire en sorte que certaines personnes occupent un poste de titulaire d'une charge publique désignée pendant une courte période.

Contexte législatif

La Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité (S.C. 2006, c.9) a entraîné un certain nombre de modifications à la Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes, y compris le changement de sa dénomination pour la Loi sur le lobbying et l'introduction du terme « titulaire d'une charge publique désignée » (TCPD). Le Règlement désignant certains postes comme postes de titulaire d'une charge publique désignée et la Loi désignent un certain nombre de hauts fonctionnaires comme TCPD. Dans l'ensemble de la fonction publique, les postes de haut fonctionnaire sont connus sous divers titres. Le paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi, qui énumère les postes englobés dans la définition de « titulaire d'une charge publique désignée », tient compte de cette réalité en incluant les postes de « rang comparable » à ceux de sous-ministre délégué et de sous-ministres adjoint. La commissaire a publié un bulletin d'interprétation intitulé « Interprétation de la notion de « rang comparable » pour les titulaires d'une charge publique désignée » qui établit des critères précis afin de déterminer les postes de rang comparable aux postes de TCPD qui sont englobés dans la définition de « titulaire d'une charge publique désignée » dans la Loi sur le lobbying et le Règlement désignant certains postes comme postes de titulaire d'une charge publique désignée.

Méthode d'interprétation

La Loi sur le lobbying ne comporte aucune disposition particulière sur les « nominations intérimaires », laissant ainsi à la commissaire au lobbying le soin d'interpréter la façon dont les nominations intérimaires à un poste de titulaire d'une charge publique désignée devraient être traitées.

Pour interpréter le terme « nomination intérimaire », la commissaire a adopté des critères très précis qui permettront de déterminer facilement si une personne occupant un poste intérimaire doit être considérée comme titulaire d'une charge publique désignée tel que prévu par la Loi sur le lobbying, tout en laissant la place à d'autres interprétations spécifiques dans des situations particulières où il subsisterait un doute sur le statut de TCPD. En établissant ces critères, la commissaire a interprété que l'intention du Parlement était de désigner ceux qui :

  • occupent des postes connus sous divers titres et dont les titulaires ont un rôle consultatif ou des responsabilités de décideur, tels que les sous-ministres délégués, les sous-ministres adjoints, et les titulaires de postes de rang comparable;
  • reçoivent une rémunération au moins aussi élevée que le salaire minimum d'un sous-ministres adjoint;
  • relèvent d'un TCPD, comme les sous-ministres délégués et les sous-ministres adjoints.

Conditions pour désigner comme TCPD une personne nommée à un poste intérimaire

Une personne nommée à un poste intérimaire sera désignée comme TCPD en présence des deux critères suivants : 

  • Le poste intérimaire est un poste de TCPD selon la définition de la Loi sur le lobbying, est désigné par voie de règlement ou consiste en un poste de rang comparable.
  • La durée de la nomination intérimaire est supérieure à quatre mois consécutifs au cours d'une période de douze mois.

En présence de ces deux conditions, la personne qui occupe un tel poste intérimaire sera désignée comme TCPD, à partir du jour suivant l'atteinte du seuil de quatre mois et ce, pendant aussi longtemps qu'elle occupe ce poste.

Si un administrateur général estime qu'une personne occupant un poste intérimaire conforme à ces critères ne devrait pas être considérée comme TCPD, il devrait écrire à la commissaire au lobbying.

À partir du 4 mai 2009, les personnes nommées à des postes intérimaires pourront être désignées comme TCPD. Seules les nominations intérimaires (y compris les prolongations) débutant à cette date ou par la suite seront considérées aux fins de la désignation.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le :

Commissariat au lobbying du Canada
No de tél. : 613-957-2760
No de téléc. : 613-957-3078
Courriel : QuestionsLobbying@ocl-cal.gc.ca

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissaire au lobbying
Octobre 2009