Boards of Directors: Application of the Act to outside chairpersons and members

Purpose of Advisory Opinion

This advisory opinion is issued by the Commissioner under the authority of subsection 10(1) of the Lobbying Act (hereafter "the Act"). Its purpose is to state the Commissioner's official view on the application of the Act to outside chairpersons and members of boards of directors.

Commissioner's Opinion

The role of a chairperson or a member of a board of directors is generally to oversee the operations of a company or a non-profit organization. These duties, however, can sometimes involve communications with federal public office holders. If the chairperson or member of the board is not an employee of the company or non-profit organization in an employee-employer relationship and receives remuneration beyond reimbursement of expenses, the requirement for registration as a consultant lobbyist applies to their lobbying activities.

Lobbying activities requiring registration are those communications, whether formal or informal, with federal public office holders for the making, developing or amending of any federal law, regulation, policy or program, or the awarding of any federal monetary grant, contribution, or other financial benefit. As well, registration is required for lobbying for the awarding of any federal contract, or arranging a meeting between a public office holder and another person.

Consultant lobbyists are also required to disclose whether they are lobbying on behalf of a corporation of which they are a member of the board of directors or whether they are lobbying on behalf of an organization of which they are either a member of the organization or a member of its board of directors. Disclosing this information in the Registry of Lobbyists provides a more accurate representation of an individual's lobbying activities.

The requirement for registration under section 7 of the Act as an in-house lobbyist (corporations and organizations) may apply if the chairperson or member of a board of directors of a corporation, company, association, or non-profit organization is also an employee of that organization.

For further information, please contact:

Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying of Canada
Telephone: 613-957-2760
Facsimile:  613-957-3078
E-mail: questionslobbying@lobbycanada.gc.ca

Karen E. Shepherd
Interim Commissioner of Lobbying
February 2009

Conseils d'administration : Application de la Loi aux présidents et aux administrateurs indépendants

But de l'avis consultatif

Le commissaire publie le présent avis consultatif en vertu du paragraphe 10(1) de la Loi sur le lobbying (ci-après dénommée « la Loi »). Cet avis vise à exposer le point de vue officiel du commissaire au sujet de l'application de la loi aux présidents et aux administrateurs indépendants.

Avis du commissaire

Le rôle d'un président ou d'un membre d'un conseil d'administration consiste généralement à surveiller les activités d'une entreprise ou d'un organisme sans but lucratif. Toutefois, ces fonctions incluent parfois des communications avec des titulaires d'une charge publique fédérale. Si un président ou un membre du conseil n'est pas un employé de l'entreprise ou de l'organisation, c'est-à-dire qu'il n'existe pas de relation employé-employeur, et qu'une rémunération en sus du remboursement de ses dépenses lui est versée, l'obligation de s'enregistrer à titre de lobbyiste-conseil s'applique à ses activités de lobbying.

Les activités de lobbying sujettes à déclaration consistent en des communications officielles ou non officielles avec des titulaires d'une charge publique fédérale concernant l'élaboration, l'adoption ou la modification de lois, règlements, politiques ou programmes fédéraux ou l'attribution, par le gouvernement fédéral, de subventions, contributions, ou autres avantages financiers. L'obligation de s'enregistrer s'appliquerait également aux activités de lobbying en vue de l'octroi de tout contrat fédéral ou de l'organisation d'une rencontre entre un titulaire d'une charge publique et une autre personne.

Les lobbyistes-conseils doivent également indiquer s'ils font du lobbying pour le compte d'une entreprise dont ils sont administrateur ou s'ils font du lobbying au nom d'une organisation dont ils sont administrateur. Divulguer ces renseignements auprès du registre des lobbyistes permet une description plus précise des activités de lobbying d'une personne.

L'obligation de s'enregistrer aux termes de l'article 7 de la Loi en tant que lobbyiste salarié (entreprises ou organisations) peut s'appliquer au président ou à un membre du conseil d'administration d'une entreprise, d'une association ou d'un organisme sans but lucratif si cette personne est aussi un de ses employés.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le :

Commissariat au lobbying du Canada
Téléphone :613-957-2760
Télécopieur : 613-957-3078
Courriel : QuestionsLobbying@ocl-cal.gc.ca

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissaire au lobbying intérimaire
Février 2009