Crown Corporations and Registrable Activities under the Lobbying Act

Purpose of Advisory Opinion

This advisory opinion is issued by the Commissioner of Lobbying under the authority of subsection 10(1) of the Lobbying Act (hereafter "the Act"). Its purpose is to provide guidance for lobbyists with respect to Crown corporations and registrable activities under the Lobbying Act.

Commissioner's Opinion

Communication between officials employed in a Crown corporation and federal public office holders concerning its mandate, operation, funding and other related matters is not a registrable lobbying activity.

Background

On the Clerk of the Privy Council was asked by the Prime Minister to convey the following governmental expectations concerning the engagement of consultant lobbyists to communicate with Crown corporations, departmental corporations and shared governance organizations:

"Crown corporations, departmental corporations and shared governance organizations for which the Government of Canada has direct responsibilities or which expend funds reported as Government assets in the Public Accounts of Canada should not engage consultant lobbyists to communicate with the Government of Canada. Communication between these organizations and the Government about their mandates, operations, funding and other matters are a regular, ongoing aspect of government operations. The Government believes that accountability and the public interest are best served when its relationship with these organizations is conducted via candid and direct communications between corporate officers and responsible Ministers and their officials, and that the use of consultant lobbyists for this purpose is unnecessary and an inappropriate use of public funds." (Emphasis added)

Crown corporations are government organizations that operate following a private-sector model but usually have a mixture of commercial and public policy objectives. Parent Crown corporations are those directly owned by the Government of Canada and are created by legislation, by letters patent, or by articles of incorporation under the Canada Business Corporations Act. In addition to the parent Crown corporations listed under Schedule III of the Financial Administration Act, nine parent Crown corporations (e.g., Bank of Canada) have their own legislation. An example of a parent Crown corporation is the Canadian Museum of Civilization (see list of Crown corporations in the appendix).

Subsidiary Crown corporations are owned, in whole or in part, by one or more parent Crown corporation. They may be incorporated under provincial rather than federal legislation. Except in cases where a wholly owned subsidiary has been directed by the government to report as a parent Crown corporation, (e.g., The Old Port of Montréal Corporation Inc. or Parc Downsview Park Inc.) all subsidiaries are managed by their parent Crown corporation and other shareholders and report to them rather than to the government.

Following the letter sent by the Clerk, the Commissioner has considered the application of the registration requirements of the Lobbying Act with respect to Crown corporations. The Commissioner takes the view that communication between officials of a Crown corporation and federal public office holders concerning the mandate, operations and funding of the Crown corporation and other related matters, does not fall within the definition of registrable lobbying activity under the Lobbying Act. As a result, Crown corporations are not required to register employees as in-house lobbyists.

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissioner of Lobbying
March 2010


Appendix

List of Crown Corporations Identified by the Clerk of the Privy Council

( )

List of Crown Corporations Identified by the Clerk of the Privy Council

Wholly owned subsidiary of Canada Development Investment Corporation; deemed parent Crown corporation Return to text

Wholly owned subsidiary of Canada Lands Company Limited; deemed parent Crown corporation Return to text

Portfolio Organization
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canadian Dairy Commission
Farm Credit Canada
Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency Enterprise Cape Breton Corporation
Canadian Heritage Canada Council for the Arts
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
Canadian Museum of Human Rights
Canadian Museum of Civilization
Canadian Museum of Nature
National Arts Centre Corporation
National Gallery of Canada
National Museum of Science and Technology
Telefilm Canada
Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism Canadian Race Relations Foundation
Finance Bank of Canada
Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation
Canada Development Investment Corporation
Canada Pension Plan Investment Board
PPP Canada Inc.*
Fisheries and Oceans Freshwater Fish Marketing Corporation
Foreign Affairs International Development Research Centre
Human Resources and Skills Development Canada Employment Insurance Financing Board
Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation
Indian Affairs and Northern Development First Nations Statistical Institute
Industry Business Development Bank of Canada
Canadian Tourism Commission
Standards Council of Canada
International Trade Canadian Commercial Corporation
Export Development Canada
Natural Resources Atomic Energy of Canada Limited
Cape Breton Development Corporation
Public Works and Government Services Defence Construction (1951) Limited
Transport, Infrastructure and Communities Atlantic Pilotage Authority
Blue Water Bridge Authority
Canada Lands Company Limited
Canada Post Corporation
Canadian Air Transport Security Authority
Federal Bridge Corporation Limited
Great Lakes Pilotage Authority
Laurentian Pilotage Authority
Marine Atlantic Inc.
National Capital Commission
Old Port of Montréal Corporation**
Pacific Pilotage Authority
Parc Downsview Park Inc.**
Ridley Terminals Inc.
Royal Canadian Mint
VIA Rail Canada Inc.
Treasury Board Public Sector Pension Investment Board

Les sociétés d'État et les activités enregistrables au sens de la Loi sur le lobbying

But de l'avis consultatif

Le commissaire au lobbying publie le présent avis en vertu du paragraphe 10(1) de la Loi sur le lobbying. Cet avis vise à donner des indications aux lobbyistes au sujet des sociétés d'État et des activités enregistrables au sens de la Loi sur le lobbying.

Avis du commissaire

La communication entre des fonctionnaires d'une société d'État et les titulaires d'une charge publique fédéraux concernant le mandat de la société, son fonctionnement, son financement ou des questions connexes n'est pas une activité enregistrable.

Contexte

Le , le Premier ministre a demandé au greffier du Conseil privé de faire connaître les attentes gouvernementales suivantes touchant le recours à lobbyistes-conseils pour communiquer avec des sociétés d'État, des établissements publics et des organismes à gouvernance partagée:

« Les sociétés d'État, les établissements publics et les organismes à gouvernance partagée qui relèvent directement du gouvernement du Canada ou qui dépensent des fonds faisant partie de ses actifs selon les Comptes publics du Canada ne devraient pas confier à des lobbyistes-conseils la tâche de les représenter auprès du gouvernement. En effet, la communication avec ces organismes à propos de leur mandat, de leur fonctionnement, de leur financement ou d'autres questions fait partie de ses activités régulières et permanentes. Le gouvernement estime par ailleurs qu'il est préférable, dans l'intérêt public et par souci de responsabilisation, que les responsables de ces organisations traitent directement et ouvertement avec leur ministre responsable et ses représentants, et que le recours à lobbyistes-conseils à cet effet est à la fois inutile et un gaspillage de fonds publics. » (L'emphase a été ajoutée)

Les sociétés d'État sont des organisations gouvernementales qui fonctionnent selon un modèle du secteur privé, mais qui ont généralement des objectifs stratégiques à la fois commerciaux et publics. Les sociétés d'État mères sont des sociétés qui appartiennent directement au gouvernement du Canada et elles sont créées par des lois, des lettres patentes ou des statuts constitutifs en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions. Outre les sociétés d'État mères énumérées à l'annexe III de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, neuf sociétés d'État mères (p. ex. la Banque du Canada) sont régies par leur propre loi. Le Musée canadien des civilisations, par exemple, est une société d'État mère (voir la liste des sociétés d'État à l'annexe).

Les filiales de sociétés d'État appartiennent, dans leur totalité ou en partie, à une ou à plusieurs sociétés d'État mères. Elles peuvent être constituées en sociétés en vertu d'une loi provinciale, et non fédérale. Sauf dans les situations où une filiale en propriété exclusive a été enjointe par le gouvernement de faire rapport comme si elle était une société d'État mère (p. ex. la Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal Inc. et Parc Downsview Park Inc.), toutes les filiales sont gérées par les sociétés d'État mères et d'autres actionnaires et leur font rapport, mais ne font pas rapport au gouvernement.

Suivant la lettre envoyée par le greffier, le commissaire a considéré l'application des exigences d'enregistrement établis en vertu de la Loi sur le lobbying par rapport aux sociétés d'État. Le commissaire est d'avis que les communications entre des fonctionnaires d'une société d'État et des titulaires d'une charge publique fédéraux ne constituent pas du lobbying au sens de la Loi sur le lobbying. Par conséquent, les sociétés d'État ne sont donc pas tenues d'enregistrer les employés en tant que lobbyistes salariés.

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissaire au lobbying
Mars 2010


Annexe

Liste des sociétés d'État dressée par le greffier du Conseil privé

( )

Liste des sociétés d'État dressée par le greffier du Conseil privé

Filiale en propriété exclusive de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada; considérée comme une société d'État mère - Retour au texte

Filiale en propriété exclusive de la Société immobilière du Canada limitée; considérée comme une société d'État mère - Retour au texte

Portefeuille Organisme
Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Commission canadienne du lait
Financement agricole Canada
Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique Société d'expansion du Cap-Breton
Patrimoine canadien Conseil des Arts du Canada
Société Radio-Canada
Musée canadien des droits de la personne
Musée canadien des civilisations
Musée canadien de la nature
Société du Centre national des Arts
Musée des beaux-arts du Canada
Musée des sciences et de la technologie
Téléfilm Canada
Citoyenneté, Immigration et Multiculturalisme Fondation canadienne des relations raciales
Finances Banque du Canada
Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada
Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada
Office d'investissement du régime de pensions du Canada
PPP Canada Inc.*
Pêches et Océans Office de commercialisation du poisson d'eau douce
Affaires étrangères Centre de recherches pour le développement international
Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Office de financement de l'assurance-emploi du Canada
Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement
Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada Institut de la statistique des premières nations
Industrie Banque de développement du Canada
Commission canadienne du tourisme
Conseil canadien des normes
Commerce international Corporation commerciale canadienne
Exportation et développement Canada
Ressources naturelles Énergie atomique du Canada limitée
Société de développement du Cap-Breton
Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Construction de défense (1951) Limitée
Transports, Infrastructure et Collectivités Administration de pilotage de l'Atlantique
Administration du pont Blue Water
Société immobilière du Canada limitée
Société canadienne des postes
Administration canadienne de la sûreté du transport aérien
La Société des ponts fédéraux Limitée
Administration de pilotage des Grands Lacs
Administration de pilotage des Laurentides
Marine Atlantic S.C.C.
Commission de la capitale nationale
Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal inc.**
Administration de pilotage du Pacifique
Parc Downsview Park Inc.**
Ridley Terminals Inc.
Monnaie royale canadienne
VIA Rail Canada Inc.
Conseil du Trésor Office d'investissement des régimes de pensions du secteur public