Departmental Corporations and Registrable Activities under the Lobbying Act

Purpose of Advisory Opinion

This advisory opinion is issued by the Commissioner of Lobbying under the authority of subsection 10(1) of the Lobbying Act. Its purpose is to provide guidance for lobbyists with respect to departmental corporations and registrable activities under the Lobbying Act.

Commissioner's Opinion

Communication between officials employed in a departmental corporation and federal public office holders concerning its mandate, operation, funding and other related matters, is not a registrable activity.

Background

On November 13, 2009 the Clerk of the Privy Council was asked by the Prime Minister to convey the following governmental expectations concerning the engagement of consultant lobbyists to communicate with Crown corporations, departmental corporations and shared governance organizations:

"Crown corporations, departmental corporations and shared governance organizations for which the Government of Canada has direct responsibilities or which expend funds reported as Government assets in the Public Accounts of Canada should not engage consultant lobbyists to communicate with the Government of Canada. Communication between these organizations and the Government about their mandates, operations, funding and other matters are a regular, ongoing aspect of government operations. The Government believes that accountability and the public interest are best served when its relationship with these organizations is conducted via candid and direct communications between corporate officers and responsible Ministers and their officials, and that the use of consultant lobbyists for this purpose is unnecessary and an inappropriate use of public funds."

Departmental corporations are corporations created by Acts of Parliament and are listed in Schedule II of the Financial Administration Act. They report to Parliament through a Minister, but usually function with greater autonomy from the core public administration than do ministerial departments, and generally perform administrative, research, advisory, supervisory or regulatory functions. Their governing bodies have roles specified in their constituent legislation, which vary in nature, function, and program responsibility. Some do not have any management oversight responsibilities (e.g., Assisted Human Reproduction Canada). See the appendix for a list of departmental corporations.

Following the letter sent by the Clerk, the Commissioner has considered the application of the registration requirements of the Lobbying Act with respect to departmental corporations. The Commissioner takes the view that communication between officials of a departmental corporation and federal public office holders concerning the mandate, operations and funding of the departmental corporation, and other related matters, does not fall within the definition of registrable lobbying activity under the Lobbying Act. As a result, departmental corporations are not required to register employees as in-house lobbyists.

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissioner of Lobbying
March 2010


Appendix

List of Departmental Corporations Identified by the Clerk of the Privy Council

(November 17, 2009)

List of Crown Corporations Identified by the Clerk of the Privy Council
Portfolio Organization
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Food Inspection Agency
Canadian Heritage National Battlefields Commission
Environment National Round Table on the Environment and the Economy
Parks Canada Agency
Health Assisted Human Reproduction Agency of Canada
Canadian Institutes of Health Research
Human Resources and Skills Development Canada Employment Insurance Commission
Indian Affairs and Northern Development Canadian Polar Commission
Industry National Research Council of Canada
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
Labour Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety
National Revenue Canada Revenue Agency
Natural Resources Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
Prime Minister (President of Queen's Privy Council for Canada) Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board
Public Safety Canada Border Services Agency
Treasury Board Canada School of Public Service

Les établissements publics et les activités enregistrables au sens de la Loi sur le lobbying

But de l'avis consultatif

Le commissaire au lobbying publie le présent avis en vertu du paragraphe 10(1) de la Loi sur le lobbying. Cet avis vise à donner des indications aux lobbyistes au sujet des établissements publics et des activités enregistrables au sens de la Loi sur le lobbying.

Avis du commissaire

La communication entre des fonctionnaires d'un établissement public et le gouvernement du Canada concernant le mandat de l'établissement, son fonctionnement, son financement ou des questions connexes n'est pas une activité enregistrable.

Contexte

Le 13 novembre 2009, le Premier ministre a demandé au greffier du Conseil privé de faire connaître les attentes gouvernementales suivantes touchant le recours à des lobbyistes-conseils pour communiquer avec des sociétés d'État, des établissements publics et des organismes à gouvernance partagée :

« Les sociétés d'État, les établissements publics et les organismes à gouvernance partagée qui relèvent directement du gouvernement du Canada ou qui dépensent des fonds faisant partie de ses actifs selon les Comptes publics du Canada ne devraient pas confier à des lobbyistes-conseils la tâche de les représenter auprès du gouvernement. En effet, la communication avec ces organismes à propos de leur mandat, de leur fonctionnement, de leur financement ou d'autres questions fait partie de ses activités régulières et permanentes. Le gouvernement estime par ailleurs qu'il est préférable, dans l'intérêt public et par souci de responsabilisation, que les responsables de ces organisations traitent directement et ouvertement avec leur ministre responsable et ses représentants, et que le recours à des lobbyistes-conseils à cet effet est à la fois inutile et un gaspillage de fonds publics. » (L'emphase a été ajoutée)

Les établissements publics sont constitués par une loi du Parlement et inscrits à l'annexe II de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Ils font rapport au Parlement par l'entremise d'un ministre, mais sont généralement plus autonomes par rapport au noyau de l'administration publique que les ministères hiérarchiques et s'acquittent habituellement de fonctions d'administration, de recherche, de conseil, de contrôle ou de réglementation. Les attributions de leur organisme directeur sont précisées dans leur loi constitutive. La nature de ces organismes directeurs, leurs fonctions et leurs responsabilités en matière de programmes varient considérablement d'un établissement à un autre. Certains ne sont aucunement tenus de surveiller la gestion de l'établissement (p. ex. Procréation assistée Canada).

Suivant la lettre envoyée par le greffier, le commissaire a considéré l'application des exigences d'enregistrement établis en vertu de la Loi sur le lobbying par rapport aux établissements publics. Le commissaire est d'avis que la communication entre des fonctionnaires d'un établissement public et des titulaires d'une charge publique fédéraux à propos de leur mandat, de leur fonctionnement, de leur financement ou d'autres questions fait partie de ses activités régulières et permanentes et ne constitue pas une activité de lobbying enregistrable au sens de la Loi sur le lobbying. Par conséquent, les établissements publics ne sont donc pas tenus d'enregistrer les employés en tant que lobbyistes salariés.

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissaire au lobbying
Mars 2010


Annexe

Liste des établissements publics dressée par le greffier du Conseil privé

(17 novembre 2009)

Liste des établissements publics dressée par le greffier du Conseil privé
Portefeuille Organisme
Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments
Patrimoine canadien Commission des champs de bataille nationaux
Environnement Table ronde nationale sur l'environnement et l'économie
Agence Parcs Canada
Santé Agence canadienne de contrôle de la procréation assistée
Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada
Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Commission de l'assurance-emploi du Canada
Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada Commission canadienne des affaires polaires
Industrie Conseil national de recherches du Canada
Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie
Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines
Travail Centre canadien d'hygiène et de sécurité au travail
Revenu national Agence du revenu du Canada
Ressources naturelles Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
Premier ministre (président du Conseil privé de la Reine pour le Canada) Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents du transport et de la sécurité des transports
Sécurité publique Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Conseil du Trésor École de la fonction publique du Canada