Registration Requirements Related to Tax Credits

Purpose of Advisory Opinion

This advisory opinion is issued by the Commissioner under the authority of subsection 10(1) of the Lobbying Act (hereafter "the Act"). Its purpose is to state the Commissioner's official view on the application of the Act to registration requirements for tax credits.

Commissioner's Opinion

Tax credits, such as the Scientific Research and Experimental Development investment tax credits, are not considered to be a financial benefit. Therefore, applying for such a tax credit is not deemed to be a registrable activity under the Lobbying Act.

Background

The registration requirements related to tax credits affects a broad group of taxpayers. As an example, the Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) investment tax credit, has been examined in terms of whether this program is consistent with the general meaning of what constitutes a "financial benefit" as it is used in the Lobbying Act.

The Commissioner takes the view that an application for a tax credit, such as those offered through the SR&ED Tax Incentive Program or other similar tax credit and incentive programs are, in essence, an application to the Canada Revenue Agency for moneys that the taxpayer is entitled to receive provided that the taxpayer meets the particular requirements of the particular tax credit program. In this way, this is distinguishable from the "…awarding of any grant, contribution or other financial benefit" that the Lobbying Act is intended to capture as the subject matter of registrable lobbying activity, as defined in sections 5 and 7 of the Lobbying Act. In situations involving tax credits, there is no entitlement to the awarding of the grant, contribution or other financial benefit in question.

The Commissioner has determined that a tax credit is not a financial benefit under the Lobbying Act and therefore the application for such a tax credit is not a registrable lobbying activity for both consultant and in-house lobbyists.

For further information, please contact:

Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying of Canada
Telephone: 613-957-2760
Facsimile: 613-957-3078
E-mail: QuestionsLobbying@cal-ocl.gc.ca

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissioner of Lobbying
October 2009

Exigences relatives à l'enregistrement en ce qui concerne les crédits d'impôt

But de l'avis consultatif

Le commissaire publie le présent avis consultatif en vertu du paragraphe 10(1) de la Loi sur le lobbying (ci-après dénommée « la Loi »). Cet avis vise à exposer le point de vue officiel du commissaire au sujet de l'application des exigences d'enregistrement de la Loi en ce qui concerne les crédits d'impôt.

Avis du commissaire

Les crédits d'impôt, comme le crédit d'impôt à l'investissement pour la recherche scientifique et le développement expérimental, ne sont pas considérés comme un avantage financier. Par conséquent, le fait de présenter une demande pour un crédit d'impôt ne constitue pas une activité enregistrable au sens de la Loi sur le lobbying.

Contexte

Les exigences relatives à l'enregistrement en ce qui concerne les crédits d'impôt touchent un large groupe de contribuables. Par exemple, le crédit d'impôt à l'investissement pour la recherche scientifique et le développement expérimental (RS&DE) a fait l'objet d'un examen visant à déterminer si ce programme correspond à la définition générale d'un « avantage financier » au sein de la Loi sur le lobbying.

Le commissaire est d'avis qu'une demande de crédit d'impôt, comme celui offert au titre du Programme d'encouragements fiscaux – Recherche scientifique et développement expérimental (RS&DE) ou au titre d'autres programmes de crédits d'impôt ou d'autres programmes d'encouragement fiscaux semblables, est, essentiellement, une demande présentée à l'Agence du revenu du Canada en vue d'obtenir des sommes auxquelles les contribuables ont droit, si celui-ci répond aux exigences du programme de crédit d'impôt concerné. Ainsi, on peut distinguer les crédits d'impôt de « l'attribution de toute subvention, contribution ou autres avantages financiers » que la Loi sur le lobbying vise à établir comme étant l'objet des activités de lobbying enregistrable, telle que définies à l'article 5 et 7 de la Loi. Dans les situations impliquant les crédits d'impôt, on n'y mentionne aucun droit à l'attribution de subventions, de contributions ou d'autres avantages financiers.

Le commissaire a déterminé que les crédits d'impôt ne constituent pas un avantage financier au sens de la Loi sur le lobbying et que, par conséquent, le fait de présenter une demande en vue d'obtenir un crédit d'impôt n'est pas une activité de lobbying enregistrable pour les lobbyistes-conseils et les lobbyistes.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le :

Commissariat au lobbying du Canada
Téléphone : 613-957-2760
Télécopieur : 613-957-3078
Courriel : QuestionsLobbying@cal-ocl.gc.ca

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissaire au lobbying
Octobre 2009