Shared Governance Organizations and Registrable Activities under the Lobbying Act

Purpose of Advisory Opinion

This advisory opinion is issued by the Commissioner of Lobbying under the authority of subsection 10(1) of the Lobbying Act. Its purpose is to provide guidance for lobbyists with respect to shared governance organizations and registrable activities under the Lobbying Act.

Commissioner's Opinion

Communication between officials employed in a shared governance organization and federal public office holders concerning its mandate, operation, funding and other related matters is not a registrable activity.

Background

On the Clerk of the Privy Council was asked by the Prime Minister to convey the following governmental expectations concerning the engagement of consultant lobbyists to communicate with Crown corporations, departmental corporations and certain shared governance organizations:

"Crown corporations, departmental corporations and shared governance organizations for which the Government of Canada has direct responsibilities or which expend funds reported as Government assets in the Public Accounts of Canada should not engage consultant lobbyists to communicate with the Government of Canada. Communication between these organizations and the Government about their mandates, operations, funding and other matters are a regular, ongoing aspect of government operations. The Government believes that accountability and the public interest are best served when its relationship with these organizations is conducted via candid and direct communications between corporate officers and responsible Ministers and their officials, and that the use of consultant lobbyists for this purpose is unnecessary and an inappropriate use of public funds." (Emphasis added)

See the appendix for a list of shared governance organizations that received this guidance from the Clerk.

Note: Three criteria were used for deciding whether a shared governance organization was included in the Clerk's guidance. They are as follows:

  1. Does the federal government appoint the majority of the directors of the organization (as with a Crown corporation);
  2. Does the Minister responsible for the organization have an explicit statutory authority to direct the operations of the organization (i.e., a residual power of operational control); and
  3. Are the assets of the organization reported as being under the control of the Government of Canada, under the public accounts of Canada?

Shared governance organizations include corporate entities without share capital for which Canada, either directly or through a Crown corporation, has a right, pursuant to statute, articles of incorporation, letters patent, by-law or any contractual agreement (including funding or contribution agreements) to appoint or nominate one or more voting members to the governing body. There are some foundations and organizations that have been established by intergovernmental agreements or agreements with First Nations or Aboriginal organizations that meet the definition of a shared-governance organization.

Following the letter sent by the Clerk, the Commissioner has considered the application of the registration requirements of the Lobbying Act with respect to shared governance organizations. The Commissioner takes the view that communication between officials of a shared governance organization and federal public office holders concerning the mandate, operations and funding of the shared governance organization, and other related matters, does not fall within the definition of registrable lobbying activity under the Lobbying Act. As a result, shared governance organizations are not required to register employees as in-house lobbyists.

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissioner of Lobbying
March 2010


Appendix

List of Shared Governance Organizations Identified by the Clerk of the Privy Council

( )

List of Shared Governance Organizations Identified by the Clerk of the Privy Council
Portfolio Organization
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canadian Wheat Board
Foreign Affairs International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development
Human Resources and Skills Development Canadian Millennium Scholarship Foundation
Indian Affairs and Northern Development First Nations Financial Management Board
First Nations Tax Commission
Industry Canada Foundation for Innovation
Natural Resources Canada Foundation for Sustainable Development Technology
Transport, Infrastructure and Communities Belledune Port Authority
Halifax Port Authority
Hamilton Port Authority
Montréal Port Authority
Nanaimo Port Authority
Oshawa Harbour Commission
Port Alberni Port Authority
Prince Rupert Port Authority
Québec Port Authority
Saguenay Port Authority
Saint John Port Authority
Sept-Îles Port Authority
St. John's Port Authority
St. Lawrence Seaway Management Corporation
Thunder Bay Port Authority
Toronto Port Authority
Trois-Rivières Port Authority
Vancouver Fraser Port Authority (Port Metro Vancouver)
Windsor Port Authority

Les organismes à gouvernance partagée et les activités enregistrables au sens de la Loi sur le lobbying

But de l'avis consultatif

Le commissaire au lobbying publie le présent avis en vertu du paragraphe 10(1) de la Loi sur le lobbying. Cet avis vise à donner des indications aux lobbyistes au sujet des organismes à gouvernance partagée et des activités enregistrables au sens de la Loi sur le lobbying.

Avis du commissaire

La communication entre les fonctionnaires d'un organisme à gouvernance partagée et les titulaires d'une charge publique fédéraux concernant le mandat de l'organisme, son fonctionnement, son financement ou des questions connexes n'est pas une activité enregistrable.

Contexte

Le , le Premier ministre a demandé au greffier du Conseil privé de faire connaître les attentes gouvernementales suivantes touchant le recours à des lobbyistes-conseils pour communiquer avec des sociétés d'État, des établissements publics et des organismes à gouvernance partagée :

« Les sociétés d'État, les établissements publics et les organismes à gouvernance partagée qui relèvent directement du gouvernement du Canada ou qui dépensent des fonds faisant partie de ses actifs selon les Comptes publics du Canada ne devraient pas confier à des lobbyistes-conseils la tâche de les représenter auprès du gouvernement. En effet, la communication avec ces organismes à propos de leur mandat, de leur fonctionnement, de leur financement ou d'autres questions fait partie de ses activités régulières et permanentes. Le gouvernement estime par ailleurs qu'il est préférable, dans l'intérêt public et par souci de responsabilisation, que les responsables de ces organisations traitent directement et ouvertement avec leur ministre responsable et ses représentants, et que le recours à des lobbyistes-conseils à cet effet est à la fois inutile et un gaspillage de fonds publics. » (L'emphase a été ajoutée)

La liste des organismes à gouvernance partagée qui ont reçu ces directives du greffier se trouve à l'annexe.

Note : Trois critères ont été utilisés pour déterminer si un organisme à gouvernance partagée était visé par les directives du greffier, à savoir les suivants :

  1. Le gouvernement fédéral nomme-t-il la majorité des administrateurs de l'organisme (comme il le fait pour une société d'État);
  2. Le ministre responsable de l'organisme est-il explicitement autorisé par la loi à diriger les opérations de l'organisme (pouvoir résiduel de contrôle opérationnel);
  3. Les actifs de l'organisme sont-ils considérés comme étant sous le contrôle du gouvernement du Canada dans les comptes publics du Canada?

Les organismes à gouvernance partagée sont des sociétés sans capital actions à l'égard desquelles le Canada est habilité, directement ou par l'intermédiaire d'une société d'État, en vertu d'une loi, de statuts constitutifs, de lettres patentes, de règlements ou de toute entente contractuelle (ce qui comprend les ententes de financement et les accords de contribution) à nommer ou à désigner un ou plusieurs membres ayant droit de vote au sein de l'organe de direction. Certaines fondations et organisations créées par des accords intergouvernementaux ou des ententes avec des Premières nations ou des organisations autochtones correspondent à la définition d'un organisme à gouvernance partagée.

Suivant la lettre envoyée par le greffier, le commissaire a considéré l'application des exigences d'enregistrement établis en vertu de la Loi sur le lobbying par rapport aux organismes à gouvernance partagée. Le commissaire est d'avis que la communication entre des fonctionnaires d'un organisme à gouvernance partagée et des titulaires d'une charge publique fédéraux à propos de leur mandat, de leur fonctionnement, de leur financement ou d'autres questions fait partie de ses activités régulières et permanentes et ne constitue pas une activité de lobbying enregistrable au sens de la Loi sur le lobbying. Les organismes à gouvernance partagée ne sont donc pas tenus d'enregistrer les employés en tant que lobbyistes salariés.

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissaire au lobbying
Mars 2010


Annexe

Liste des organismes à gouvernance partagée dressée par le greffier du Conseil privé

( )

Liste des organismes à gouvernance partagée dressée par le greffier du Conseil privé
Portefeuille Organisme
Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Commission canadienne du blé
Affaires étrangères Centre international des droits de la personne et du développement démocratique
Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Fondation canadienne des bourses d'études du millénaire
Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada Conseil de gestion financière des Premières nations
Commission de la fiscalité des Premières nations
Industrie Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation
Ressources naturelles Fondation du Canada pour l'appui technologique au développement durable
Transports, Infrastructure et Collectivités Administration portuaire de Belledune
Administration portuaire de Halifax
Administration portuaire de Hamilton
Administration portuaire de Montréal
Administration portuaire de Nanaimo
Commission du port d'Oshawa
Administration portuaire de Port Alberni
Administration portuaire de Prince-Rupert
Administration portuaire de Québec
Administration portuaire du Saguenay
Administration portuaire de Saint John
Administration portuaire de Sept-Îles
Administration portuaire de St. John's
Corporation de gestion de la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent
Administration portuaire de Thunder Bay
Administration portuaire de Toronto
Administration portuaire de Trois-Rivières
Administration portuaire de Vancouver Fraser (Port Metro Vancouver)
Administration portuaire de Windsor