Registration Requirements Related to the Academic Sector

Purpose of Advisory Opinion

This advisory opinion is issued by the Commissioner under the authority of subsection 10(1) of the Lobbying Act (hereafter "the Act"). Its purpose is to state the Commissioner's official view on the application of the Act to academic sector registration requirements.

Commissioner's Opinion

Questions have been raised by the academic sector concerning who must be listed in a registration. Should the registration list only the academic Dean; should it list all senior management at an institution of higher learning (predominantly universities and colleges); or should all professors be listed as well?

All university and college faculty members may not be required to register as in-house lobbyists for the sole reason that the institution communicates with public office holders. It is the most senior officer of the organization who must register and list personnel within the institution who lobby. Similarly, the most senior officer of the organization is required to register the names of staff members responsible for government relations or for securing grant funding (excluding research grants provided by organizations with peer review processes).

The situation differs when faculty members provide independent advice to government bodies but are not speaking on behalf of the institution where they are employed to teach or conduct research. Professors often speak as experts on public policy issues and may not be speaking on behalf of the institution that employs them. Therefore, where faculty members communicate an independent opinion on a matter of public policy, but are not specifically paid by their employer or a third party to express that opinion, registration is not required.

For further information, please contact:

Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying of Canada
Telephone: 613-957-2760
Facsimile: 613-957-3078
Email: QuestionsLobbying@ocl-cal.gc.ca

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissioner of Lobbying
July 2009

Exigences relatives à l'enregistrement dans le secteur de l'enseignement supérieur

But de l'avis consultatif

Le commissaire publie le présent avis consultatif en vertu du paragraphe 10(1) de la Loi sur le lobbying (ci-après dénommée « la Loi »). Cet avis vise à exposer le point de vue officiel du commissaire au sujet de l'application des exigences d'enregistrement de la Loi au secteur de l'enseignement postsecondaire.

Avis du commissaire

Des questions ont été soulevées par le secteur de l'enseignement postsecondaire quant aux individus qui devraient être nommés dans l'enregistrement d'une institution. Est-ce seulement le doyen, tous les membres de la direction de l'établissement ou l'ensemble du personnel enseignant?

Tous les membres du corps professoral d'une université ou collège n'ont pas nécessairement à s'enregistrer en tant que lobbyistes salariés simplement parce que l'établissement communique avec des titulaires d'une charge publique. La responsabilité de s'enregistrer relève du dirigeant principal de l'organisation qui doit l'enregistrer et fournir la liste des membres du personnel de l'établissement qui font du lobbying. Il doit également enregistrer les membres du personnel chargés des relations gouvernementales ou de l'obtention de subventions (ce qui exclut les subventions de recherche octroyées par des organisations ayant des processus d'évaluation par des pairs).

La situation est différente lorsque des membres d'un corps professoral donnent des avis indépendants à des organismes gouvernementaux, sans toutefois exprimer le point de vue de l'établissement où ils enseignent ou font de la recherche. Les professeurs se prononcent souvent à titre de spécialistes en politiques publiques et ne parlent pas nécessairement au nom de l'établissement où ils travaillent. Par conséquent, les membres d'un corps professoral qui expriment une opinion indépendante au sujet de politiques publiques et qui ne sont pas expressément payés à cette fin par leur employeur ou par une tierce partie n'ont pas à s'enregistrer.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le :

Commissariat au lobbying du Canada
Téléphone : 613-957-2760
Télécopieur : 613-957-3078
Courriel : QuestionsLobbying@ocl-cal.gc.ca

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissaire au lobbying intérimaire
Juillet 2009