Archived - Archived information - News Release

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Commissioner of Lobbying finds three lobbyists in breach of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct

For immediate release

Ottawa, February 16, 2011 — Karen E. Shepherd, Commissioner of Lobbying, tabled three reports today in both Houses of Parliament on the activities of three lobbyists.

In all three cases, the Commissioner found the lobbyists were in breach of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct. She concluded that Bruce Rawson did not register lobbying activities performed on behalf of two clients. The Commissioner also found that Will Stewart and Michael McSweeney created an apparent conflict of interest by conducting fundraising activities for a federal cabinet minister whose department they were lobbying.

"These reports show there are consequences to breaching the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct," said Commissioner Shepherd. "The Stewart and McSweeney cases are groundbreaking, as they are the first ones since the Federal Court of Appeal's decision in March 2009 that provided a new interpretation of Rule 8 of the Code."

The purpose of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct is to assure the Canadian public that lobbying is done ethically and with the highest standards, with a view to increasing public confidence and trust in the integrity, objectivity and impartiality of government decision-making.

The Lobbyists' Code of Conduct is an integral part of the disclosure and ethical requirements that apply to all lobbyists. Breaches of the Code carry no fines or jail terms.

Please consult the reports for further details.

- 30 -

For more information, contact:

Telephone: 613-952-4306
Email: media@lobbycanada.gc.ca

Archivée - Informations archivées - Communiqué

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

La commissaire au lobbying conclut que trois lobbyistes ont contrevenu au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes

Pour diffusion immédiate

Ottawa, le 16 février 2011 — Aujourd'hui, Karen E. Shepherd, commissaire au lobbying, a déposé trois rapports aux deux chambres du Parlement sur les activités de trois lobbyistes.

Dans les trois cas, la commissaire a déterminé que les lobbyistes avaient contrevenu au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes. Elle a conclu que Bruce Rawson n'avait pas enregistré des activités de lobbying au nom de deux clients. La commissaire a conclu que Will Stewart et Michael McSweeney ont créé l'apparence d'un conflit d'intérêts lorsqu'ils ont exercé des activités de financement au profit d'une ministre au sein du Cabinet fédéral tout en faisant du lobbying auprès de son ministère.

« Ces rapports montrent qu'il y a des conséquences à contrevenir au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes », a déclaré la Commissaire Shepherd. « Les cas de M. Stewart et M. McSweeney sont sans précédent, parce qu'ils sont les premiers depuis la nouvelle interprétation de la Règle 8 du Code par la Cour d'appel fédérale en mars 2009. »

L'objet du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes est de rassurer le public canadien au sujet des normes d'éthique élevées que doivent respecter les lobbyistes de façon à préserver et accroître la confiance du public dans l'intégrité, l'objectivité et l'impartialité de la prise de décisions du gouvernement.

Le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes fait partie intégrante des exigences en matière de divulgation et d'éthique qui s'appliquent à tous les lobbyistes. Les infractions au Code ne sont pas passibles d'amendes ou de peines d'emprisonnement.

Veuillez consulter les rapports pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

- 30 -

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Téléphone : 613-952-4306
Courriel : media@lobbycanada.gc.ca