Archived - Archived information - News Release

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Commissioner of Lobbying finds five lobbyists in breach of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct

For immediate release

Ottawa, November 1, 2011 — The Commissioner of Lobbying, Karen E. Shepherd, tabled four reports today in both Houses of Parliament on the activities of five lobbyists.

The Commissioner found that the five lobbyists did not register their lobbying activities. As such, she concluded that they were in breach of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct, specifically the Principle of Professionalism, Rule 2 (Accurate information) and Rule 3 (Disclosure of obligations). The lobbyists in question are:

"These reports show that there are consequences to unregistered lobbying," said Commissioner Shepherd. "Two of these investigations were initiated before I was appointed Commissioner and I am pleased to report on the last of the investigations that were initiated by my predecessor, the former Registrar of Lobbyists."

The purpose of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct is to assure the Canadian public that lobbying is done ethically and with the highest standards, with a view to increasing public confidence and trust in the integrity, objectivity and impartiality of government decision-making.

Breaches of the Code carry no fines or jail terms. After conducting an investigation under the Code, the Commissioner is required to table a Report to Parliament to present her findings and conclusions, and the reasons for those conclusions.

For more information, contact:

Telephone: 613-952-4306
Email: media@lobbycanada.gc.ca

Archivée - Informations archivées - Communiqué

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

La commissaire au lobbying conclut que cinq lobbyistes ont contrevenu au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes

Pour diffusion immédiate

Ottawa, le 1 novembre 2011Karen E. Shepherd, la commissaire au lobbying, a déposé quatre rapports aux deux chambres du Parlement sur les activités de cinq lobbyistes.

La commissaire a déterminé que les cinq lobbyistes n'avaient pas enregistré leurs activités de lobbying. Elle a conclu qu'ils avaient contrevenu au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes, notamment le principe du professionnalisme, la règle 2 (renseignements exacts) et la règle 3 (divulgation des obligations). Les lobbyistes sont :

« Ces rapports montrent qu'il y a des conséquences à exercer des activités de lobbying sans les enregistrer », a déclaré la Commissaire Shepherd. « Deux de ces enquêtes avaient été initiées avant ma nomination au poste de commissaire. J'ai le plaisir de faire rapport sur les dernières enquêtes initiées par mon prédécesseur, le directeur des lobbyistes. »

L'objet du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes est de rassurer le public canadien au sujet des normes d'éthique élevées que doivent respecter les lobbyistes de façon à préserver et accroître la confiance du public dans l'intégrité, l'objectivité et l'impartialité de la prise de décisions du gouvernement.

Les infractions au Code ne sont pas passibles d'amendes ou de peines d'emprisonnement. À la suite d'une enquête en vertu du Code, la commissaire doit déposer un Rapport au Parlement afin de présenter ses conclusions et les raisons à l'appui.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Téléphone : 613-952-4306
Courriel : media@lobbycanada.gc.ca