Archived - Archived information - News ReleaseCommissioner of Lobbying finds individual in breach of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For immediate release

Ottawa,  — The Commissioner of Lobbying, Karen E. Shepherd, tabled a Report on Investigation today in both Houses of Parliament on the lobbying activities of Julie Couillard.

The Commissioner concluded that Ms. Couillard was in breach of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct. She determined that Ms. Couillard engaged in registrable lobbying activities and failed to register these activities.

"Ms. Couillard was paid to communicate with federal public office holders to obtain a contract," the Commissioner stated. "This is a legitimate activity which requires registration. Ms. Couillard failed to submit information on her lobbying activities in the Registry of Lobbyists and, as such, I concluded she breached the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct."

The purpose of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct is to assure the Canadian public that lobbying is done ethically and with the highest standards. This is done to increase public confidence and trust in the integrity, objectivity and impartiality of government decision-making.

Breaches of the Code carry no fines or jail terms. After conducting an investigation under the Code, the Commissioner is required to table a Report to Parliament to present her findings and conclusions, and the reasons for those conclusions.

Please consult the Report on Investigation for further details.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Telephone: 613-952-4306
Email: media@lobbycanada.gc.ca

Archivée - Informations archivées - CommuniquéLa commissaire au lobbying conclut qu’une personne a enfreint le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate

Ottawa, le  — La commissaire au lobbying, Karen E. Shepherd, a déposé aujourd'hui devant les deux chambres du Parlement son rapport d'enquête au sujet des activités de lobbying de Julie Couillard.

La commissaire a conclu que Mme Couillard avait enfreint le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes en se livrant sans les déclarer à des activités de lobbying pour lesquelles elle était tenue de fournir une déclaration.

« Mme Couillard a été rémunérée pour communiquer avec des titulaires d'une charge publique fédérale aux fins de l'obtention d'un contrat », a déclaré la commissaire. « Il s'agit d'une activité légitime nécessitant un enregistrement à titre de lobbyiste. Mme Couillard a omis de fournir des renseignements au sujet de ses activités de lobbying dans le Registre des lobbyistes et, par conséquent, j'ai conclu qu'elle avait enfreint le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes. »

Le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes a pour objet de rassurer le public canadien au sujet des normes d'éthique élevées que doivent respecter les lobbyistes de façon à préserver et accroître la confiance du public dans l'intégrité, l'objectivité et l'impartialité de la prise de décisions du gouvernement.

Les infractions au Code ne sont pas passibles d'amendes ou de peines d'emprisonnement. Au terme d'une enquête en vertu du Code, la commissaire doit déposer un rapport au Parlement pour présenter ses constatations, ses conclusions ainsi que les raisons à l'appui.

Veuillez consulter le rapport d'enquête pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

– 30 –

Pour obtenir des renseignements complémentaires, veuillez communiquer avec :

Téléphone : 613-952-4306
Courriel : media@lobbycanada.gc.ca