Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information (Page 2 of 4)

General Information

Info Source

Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information provides information about the functions, programs, activities and related information holdings of government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. It provides individuals and employees of the government (current and former) with relevant information to access personal information about themselves held by government institutions subject to the Privacy Actand to exercise their rights under the Privacy Act.

The Introduction and an index of institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act are available centrally.

The Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act assign overall responsibility to the President of Treasury Board (as the designated Minister) for the government-wide administration of the legislation.

Background

On February 6, 2006, the Office of the Registrar of Lobbyists (ORL) was transferred from the Department of Industry Canada to the Treasury Board portfolio as an independent department for purposes of the Financial Administration Act. Bill C-2, the Federal Accountability Act (FedAA), was introduced in Parliament on April 11, 2006, and received Royal Assent on December 12, 2006. The FedAA amended numerous statutes, including the previous Lobbyists Registration Act (LRA) that was renamed the Lobbying Act, which came into effect on July 2, 2008.

The position of Commissioner of Lobbying was created, replacing that of the Registrar of Lobbyists. The Commissioner of Lobbying is an independent Agent of Parliament.

Responsibilities

The Commissioner of Lobbying is responsible for developing and maintaining the Registry of Lobbyists and keeping it up-to-date. The Registry contains the information about all registered lobbyists as well as their activities. This information is available to the public on the OCL's website. The Commissioner issues advisory opinions and interpretation bulletins pertaining to the Act. The Commissioner is also responsible for the development of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct (the Code) as well as ensuring compliance with the Code. The Act provides the Commissioner with the authority to investigate alleged breaches of the Act and the Code and to issue reports, which are required to be tabled before Parliament. The Commissioner also reviews applications for exemptions to the five-year prohibition on lobbying for former designated public office holders and publishes the names of those granted, as well as the reasons for the exemptions.

Information related to the Commissioner of Lobbying's mandate and responsibilities is available at: The Commissioner of Lobbying: Mandate

Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux (page 2 de 4)

Renseignements généraux

Info Source

Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux fournit de l'information au sujet des fonctions, des programmes, des activités et des fonds de renseignements connexes des institutions fédérales visées par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il donne aux personnes et aux employés du gouvernement (actuels et anciens) des renseignements pertinents afin de leur donner accès aux renseignements personnels les concernant et qui sont détenus par les institutions fédérales visées par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, et à les aider à exercer leurs droits en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Un accès central permet de consulter l'avant-propos d'Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux et la liste des institutions assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels confèrent au président du Conseil du Trésor (à titre de ministre responsable) les responsabilités générales pour ce qui est de l'administration pangouvernementale de ces deux lois.

Historique

Le 6 février 2006, le Bureau du directeur des lobbyistes a été transféré d'Industrie Canada au portefeuille du Conseil du Trésor à titre de ministère fédéral autonome aux fins de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Le projet de loi C-2, la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité (LFR) fut introduite au Parlement le 11 avril 2006 et a reçu la sanction royale le 12 décembre 2006. La LFR a modifiée de nombreuses lois, y compris la Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes (LEL), laquelle a été renommée la Loi sur le lobbying et est entrée en vigueur le 2 juillet 2008.

Le poste de Commissaire au lobbying a été établi en lieu et place de celui de Directeur des lobbyistes. La Commissaire au lobbying est un Agent indépendant du Parlement.

Responsabilités

La Commissaire a la responsabilité de développer et de tenir à jour le registre des lobbyistes. Le Registre présente de l'information sur tous les lobbyistes enregistrés ainsi que sur leurs activités. Ces renseignements peuvent être consultés par le public sur le site Web du CAL. La Commissaire publie des avis consultatifs et des bulletins d'interprétation concernant la Loi. Elle est aussi responsable d'élaborer et d'assurer la conformité au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes. La Loi donne à la Commissaire le pouvoir de faire enquête au sujet des infractions présumées au Code de déontologie et de la Loi, de préparer des rapports en conséquence, lesquels doivent être présentés au Parlement. De plus, la Commissaire mène des examens d'application pour des exemptions sur l'interdiction quinquennale au lobbying à laquelle sont soumises les anciens titulaires d'une charge publique désignée et publie les noms des gens à qui elle octroie une exemption, ainsi que les raisons pour les exemptions.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur le mandat et responsabilities de la commissaire au lobbying nous vous invitons à consulter le lien suivant : La commissaire au lobbying: Mandat