Applicability of the Lobbying Act to Grass-roots Communications

Authority

This Interpretation Bulletin is issued by the Commissioner of Lobbying (the Commissioner) under the authority of subsection 10(1) of the Lobbying Act (the Act).

Purpose

This bulletin elaborates on the meaning of “grass-roots communication” and clarifies that paid lobbyists involved in grass-roots communication campaigns may be required to register even if their activities do not include direct communication with public office holders.

Legislation

Sections 5 and 7 of the Lobbying Act state that registration may be required, if individuals communicate with public office holders, for payment, on behalf of a client or employer, with respect to:

  • the development of any legislative proposal by the Government of Canada or by a member of the Senate or the House of Commons;
  • the introduction of any Bill or resolution in either House of Parliament or the passage, defeat or amendment of any Bill or resolution that is before either House of Parliament;
  • the making or amendment of any regulation as defined in subsection 2(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act;
  • the development or amendment of any policy or program of the Government of Canada;
  • the awarding of any grant, contribution or other financial benefit by or on behalf of Her Majesty in right of Canada; or
  • the awarding of any contract by or on behalf of Her Majesty in right of Canada (consultant lobbyists only).

The term “grass-roots communication” is defined in paragraph 5(2)(j) of the Act as:

"[... ] any appeals to members of the public through the mass media or by direct communication that seek to persuade those members of the public to communicate directly with a public office holder in an attempt to place pressure on the public office holder to endorse a particular opinion."

Commissioner’s Interpretation

The reporting regime is intended to be comprehensive and transparent to ensure that the Canadian public knows who communicates with public office holders and which interests they represent.

Pursuant to paragraphs 5(2)(j) and 7(3)(k) of the Act, consultant and in-house lobbyists, respectively, are required to disclose all techniques of communication that they use or expect to use to lobby, including “grass-roots communication.”

For the purposes of the Act, grass-roots communication occurs when, for payment and on behalf of a client or employer, individuals appeal to the public to communicate with public office holders about a registrable topic, through such means as advertisements, websites, organization of a letter writing campaign, or through social media tools such as (but not limited to) Facebook or Twitter.

Undertaking to communicate with a public office holder using grass-roots communication, with respect to the topics listed above, on behalf of a client, will require individuals to register as a consultant lobbyist.

The most senior officer of an organization or corporation should consider the time spent by paid employees developing and/or managing grass-roots communication when determining whether registration is required. When communication with public office holders by paid employees of organizations or corporations, including grass-roots communication, constitutes a significant part of the duties of one employee or would constitute a significant part of the duties of one employee if they were performed by one employee, registration is necessary.

For further information, please contact:

Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying of Canada
255 Albert Street
10th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 6A9
Telephone: 613-957-2760
Facsimile:  613-957-3078
Email: QuestionsLobbying@ocl-cal.gc.ca

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissioner of Lobbying
May 2016

Application de la Loi sur le lobbying aux appels au grand public

Autorisation

Ce bulletin d’interprétation est publié par la commissaire au lobbying (la commissaire) en vertu du paragraphe 10(1) de la Loi sur le lobbying (la Loi).

Objet

Ce bulletin explique ce que signifie le terme « appel au grand public » et précise que les lobbyistes rémunérés qui participent à des appels au grand public peuvent être tenus de s’enregistrer même s’ils ne communiquent pas directement avec des titulaires d’une charge publique dans le cadre de leurs fonctions.

Législation

En vertu des articles 5 et 7 de la Loi sur le lobbying, une personne peut être tenue de s’enregistrer lorsqu’elle communique avec un titulaire d’une charge publique pour le compte d’un client ou d’un employeur, moyennant paiement, au sujet des mesures suivantes :

  • l’élaboration de propositions législatives par le gouvernement fédéral ou par un sénateur ou un député;
  • le dépôt d’un projet de loi ou d’une résolution devant une chambre du Parlement, ou sa modification, son adoption ou son rejet par celle-ci;
  • la prise ou la modification de tout règlement au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur les textes réglementaires;
  • l’élaboration ou la modification d’orientation ou de programmes fédéraux;
  • l’octroi de subventions, de contributions ou d’autres avantages financiers par Sa Majesté du chef du Canada ou en son nom;
  • l’octroi de tout contrat par Sa Majesté du chef du Canada ou en son nom (lobbyistes-conseils seulement).

Le terme « appel au grand public » est défini comme suit à l’alinéa 5(2)(j) de la Loi :

"[... ] un appel au grand public, directement ou au moyen d’un média à grande diffusion, pour persuader celui-ci de communiquer directement avec le titulaire d’une charge publique en vue de faire pression sur lui afin qu’il appuie un certain point de vue."

Interprétation de la commissaire

Le régime de déclaration se veut complet et transparent afin que la population canadienne sache qui communique avec des titulaires d’une charge publique et des intérêts que les lobbyistes représentent.

Conformément aux alinéas 5(2)j) et 7(3)k) de la Loi, les lobbyistes-conseils et les lobbyistes salariés sont tenus de déclarer toutes les techniques de communication qu’ils utilisent ou comptent utiliser pour faire du lobbying, y compris l’« appel au grand public ».

Au sens de la Loi, un appel au grand public a lieu lorsque, moyennant paiement et pour le compte d’un client ou d’un employeur, des personnes appellent le public à communiquer avec des titulaires d’une charge publique au sujet des mesures énumérées ci-haut, par des moyens tels que la publicité, les sites Web, l’organisation d’une campagne de lettres, ou les médias sociaux comme (sans s’y limiter) Facebook ou Twitter.

Une personne qui s’engage à communiquer avec un titulaire d’une charge publique pour le compte d’un client au sujet des mesures énumérées ci-haut au moyen d’un appel au grand public sera tenue de s’enregistrer à titre de lobbyiste-conseil.

L’employé qui exerce les fonctions les plus élevées au sein d’une organisation ou d’une personne morale devrait évaluer le temps consacré par les employés rémunérés à mettre au point et/ou gérer des campagnes d’appel au grand public au moment de déterminer si un enregistrement est nécessaire. Dans l'éventualité où les communications d’employés rémunérés d’une organisation ou d’une personne morale avec des titulaires d’une charge publique, y compris les appels au grand public, constituent une partie importante des fonctions d’un employé ou constitueraient une partie importante des fonctions d’un employé si elles étaient exercées par une seule personne, l’enregistrement est requis.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le :

Commissariat au lobbying du Canada
255, rue Albert
10e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 6A9
No de tél. : 613-957-2760
No de téléc. : 613-957-3078
Courriel : QuestionsLobbying@ocl-cal.gc.ca

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissaire au lobbying
Mai 2016