The status of Members of Parliament, Ministers, and Senators and their staff during an election period

When a federal election is called, Members of Parliament cease to be public office holders. Candidates running in a federal election do not become public office holders until they are voted into office. Therefore, communicating with any candidate during the election period does not trigger the need to register nor does it need to be reported under the Lobbying Act.

However, the Prime Minister, Ministers, and Ministers of State, and their staff retain their status as designated public office holders during a federal election period. Therefore, all the registration and monthly communication reporting requirements under the Lobbying Act continue to apply. Even if they are defeated in the election, the Prime Minister, Ministers, and Ministers of State continue to be designated public office holders until a new Cabinet is sworn in by the Governor General.

Senators also retain their status as designated public office holders during a federal election period and all the registration and monthly communication reporting requirements under the Lobbying Act continue to apply. Senators’ staff also retain their status as public office holders.

Members of Parliament’s staff who remain in their position during the election period retain their status as public office holders.

Chart to determine registration and reporting requirements during an election period

Public office held prior to election call Members of Parliament Prime Minister, Ministers, Ministers of State and their staff Senators Staff of Members of Parliament and Senators
Status during election Not public office holders Designated public office holders Designated public office holders Public office holders
Registration instructions for In-House Lobbyists Do not include in significant part of duties calculation Include in significant part of duties calculation Include in significant part of duties calculation Include in significant part of duties calculation
Reporting instructions for In-House Lobbyists Monthly communication report not required Monthly communication report required, if registration is required Monthly communication report required, if registration is required Monthly communication report not required
Registration instructions for Consultant Lobbyists Registration not required Registration required Registration required Registration required
Reporting instructions for Consultant Lobbyists Monthly communication report not required Monthly communication report required Monthly communication report required Monthly communication report not required
REMINDER: All oral and arranged communications with designated public office holders about registrable topics, initiated by a person other than a public office holder, must be reported in a monthly communication report by the 15th day of the following month. Registered lobbyists must report oral and arranged communications with designated public office holders when they are initiated by a public office holder and they concern funding (grant, contribution or other financial benefit) or a contract in the case of consultant lobbyists.

Le statut des députés, des ministres et des sénateurs et leur personnel pendant une période électorale

Lorsque des élections fédérales sont déclenchées, les députés cessent d'être des titulaires d'une charge publique et les candidats ne deviennent pas des titulaires d'une charge publique jusqu'à ce qu’ils soient élus. Comme les candidats ne sont pas des titulaires d'une charge publique pendant la période électorale fédérale, communiquer avec eux ne déclenche pas le besoin de s'enregistrer ou de produire un rapport de communication en vertu de la Loi sur le lobbying.

Cependant, le premier ministre, les ministres ainsi que les ministres d'État, ainsi que leur personnel conservent le statut de titulaire d'une charge publique désignée pendant la période électorale fédérale et toutes les exigences de la Loi sur le lobbying en matière d'enregistrement et de déclaration des communications mensuelles avec ces personnes continuent de s'appliquer. Même s'ils sont défaits aux élections, le premier ministre, les ministres et les ministres d'État continuent d’être des titulaires d'une charge publique désignée jusqu'à ce qu'un nouveau Cabinet soit assermenté par le gouverneur général.

Les sénateurs demeurent des titulaires d'une charge publique désignée pendant la période électorale fédérale et toutes les exigences de la Loi sur le lobbying en matière d'enregistrement et de déclaration des communications mensuelles avec ces personnes continuent de s'appliquer. Le personnel des sénateurs conserve aussi le statut de titulaire d’une charge publique.

Le personnel des députés qui continue à travailler dans ce rôle pendant la période électorale retient le statut de titulaire d’une charge publique.

Un tableau pour déterminer les exigences en matière d'enregistrement et de déclaration lors d'une campagne électorale

Statut avant le déclenchement des élections Députés Premier ministre, ministres, ministres d'État et leur personnel Sénateurs Personnel des députés et sénateurs
Statut pendant la campagne électorale Ne sont pas des titulaires d'une charge publique désignée Titulaires d'une charge publique désignée Titulaires d'une charge publique désignée Titulaires d'une charge publique
Instructions en matière d’enregistrement pour les lobbyistes salariés Ne pas inclure dans le calcul d'une partie importante des fonctions Inclure dans le calcul d'une partie importante des fonctions Inclure dans le calcul d'une partie importante des fonctions Inclure dans le calcul d'une partie importante des fonctions
Instructions en matière de déclaration pour les lobbyistes salariés Rapport mensuel de communication non requis Rapport mensuel de communication requis si un enregistrement est requis Rapport mensuel de communication requis si un enregistrement est requis Rapport mensuel de communication non requis
Instructions en matière d'enregistrement pour les lobbyistes-conseils Enregistrement non requis Enregistrement requis Enregistrement requis Enregistrement requis
Instructions en matière de déclaration pour les lobbyistes-conseils Rapport mensuel de communication non requis Rapport mensuel de communication requis Rapport mensuel de communication requis Rapport mensuel de communication non requis
RAPPEL : Toutes les communications orales et organisées avec des titulaires d'une charge publique désignée à propos de sujets enregistrables qui n’ont pas lieu à la demande d’un titulaire d'une charge publique doivent être déclarées dans un rapport mensuel de communication au plus tard le 15e jour du mois suivant. Les communications orales et organisées qui ont lieu à la demande d’un titulaire d’une charge publique doivent être déclarées par tous les lobbyistes enregistrés lorsqu’elles portent sur le financement d'un client (subvention, contribution ou autre avantage financier) et par les lobbyistes-conseils seulement lorsqu’elles portent sur un contrat.