Commissioner’s Guidance for lobbyists regarding the application of Rule 10 of the Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct – Gifts


Guidance current to and last amended on . Previous Version.


This guidance does not reduce the responsibility of lobbyists to ask themselves the following questions, before providing or promising a gift, favour or other benefit to a public office holder: “Am I lobbying this public office holder? Will I lobby them later? Would a reasonable person look at the provision of this gift, favour or other benefit and consider that it was given in an attempt to influence the public office holder”? If the answers to these questions are “yes”, in order to avoid the creation of a conflict of interest, the lobbyists should not provide or promise the gift, favour, or other benefit.

Purpose of Commissioner’s Guidance

Federal public office holders are required to make decisions in the public interest. When public office holders are placed in a conflict of interest, public confidence in the integrity of their decision making is diminished.

The purpose of this document is to provide guidance for lobbyists in the area of gifts, so that they may avoid placing a public office holder in a real or apparent conflict of interest. Public office holders should always consult the appropriate authority when they have questions about the acceptability of a gift from a lobbyist, be that the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, the Senate Ethics Officer, or their departmental Values and Ethics Officer.

Conflict of interest

A conflict of interest is a situation where an individual’s judgment is influenced, or might be influenced, from making decisions in an organization’s best interest due to a competing sense of obligation. A conflict of interest is created when there is a perception that a public office holder’s private interests may influence their performance when carrying out their duties.

Rule 6 of the Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct states:

A lobbyist shall not propose or undertake any action that would place a public office holder in a real or apparent conflict of interest.1

Providing or promising a gift, favour, or other benefit to a public office holder could create a sense of obligation, or the appearance of one. This could in turn generate a tension between the public office holder’s primary duty to the public interest and their private interest. To prevent such a situation, Rule 10 of the Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct states:

To avoid the creation of a sense of obligation, a lobbyist shall not provide or promise a gift, favour, or other benefit to a public office holder whom they are lobbying or will lobby, which the public office holder is not allowed to accept.

Definition of “gift”

The Commissioner defines “gift” to include anything of value, given for free or at a reduced rate, when there is no obligation to repay.2

Documents that set out the acceptability of gifts for public office holders

Examples of documents that lobbyists could consult include:

When is a gift allowed?

Given the rules in place governing the acceptability of gifts, there are some exceptions when gifts would be acceptable. These exceptions are typically when gifts are expressions of courtesy, protocol or hospitality provided when a public office holder is carrying out job-related duties. Examples include:

  • Refreshments/meals served at an event where the public office holder has a role to play. These circumstances could include ceremonial or presentational roles, or active participation by a public office holder as a representative of the government, or a federal department or agency.
  • Tickets to a public event such as a community event or charitable fundraiser given by event organizers to a Member of Parliament for events in their riding or region.
  • A gift given following an appearance, speech, or presentation as a token of thanks or appreciation.

Gifts that are not allowed

If a lobbyist is actively lobbying or will lobby a public office holder, gifts, including meals and tickets to events, other than the exceptions listed above, are most likely unacceptable.

Lobbyists are cautioned against providing public office holders whom they are lobbying or will lobby with tickets to charitable or other events, when these tickets are at a reduced cost or no cost. The provision of such a ticket may reasonably be viewed as creating a sense of obligation on the part of a public office holder, and therefore risks creating a conflict of interest for the public office holder.

Charging the public office holder the actual cost of the ticket (i.e., the cost the lobbyist paid for the ticket or, if the cost of the ticket price included a charitable receipt, the cost of the ticket minus the amount of the charitable receipt) means that no gift has been offered, and therefore no sense of obligation has been created.

The Commissioner of Lobbying recognizes that the rules governing the acceptability of gifts for public office holders may not always be clear. When in doubt as to the acceptability of a gift, the lobbyist should ask the public office holder if the gift is something the public office holder can accept.

Commissioner’s advice regarding receptions for Parliamentarians

If a lobbyist or a corporation or organization organizes a reception to which Parliamentarians (members of Parliament and Senators) are invited, they should consider the risk posed by inviting Parliamentarians they are lobbying, or will lobby. It is the Commissioner of Lobbying’s view that meeting all three conditions listed below when inviting Parliamentarians will mitigate the risk of creating a sense of obligation, or the appearance of one:

  1. All members of Parliament and/or the Senate are invited;
  2. The total cost of any gifts provided or promised is reasonable (including food, beverages, and any other objects offered to the attendees); and
  3. The invitation is not accompanied by any information related to lobbying activity nor is there lobbying at the event.

In determining whether to invite Parliamentarians that a lobbyist, corporation, or organization is lobbying, the Commissioner encourages lobbyists to exercise caution.

Consult the Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying

It is the Commissioner’s intention to help lobbyists reduce the risk that their activities will create a tension, or even the appearance of one, between the private interest and the public duty of public office holders with whom they interact.

If you have further questions about how to avoid creating a conflict of interest for a public office holder, please contact:

Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying of Canada

255 Albert Street
10th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H2
Tel.: 613-957-2760
Fax: 613-957-3078
Email: QuestionsLobbying@ocl-cal.gc.ca

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissioner of Lobbying
January 2016


1 – Guidance on Rule 6 is available on the OCL website. Return to text

2 – See the Annotated Lobbyists' Code of Conduct for a more complete discussion of the definition of gifts. Return to text

3 – The Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner has offered guidance on gifts to public office holders subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. Return to text

4 – The Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner has issued advisory opinions for Members of Parliament regarding the acceptability of gifts offered in conjunction with lobby days, the acceptability of event tickets and invitations, and the acceptability of gifts offered at events. Return to text

5 – All departments are required to develop a Values and Ethics Code. Some departments have posted their Codes on their websites. Return to text


Information on downloading a PDF reader
To access the Portable Document Format (PDF) version you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are several PDF readers available online:

Directive de la commissaire à l’intention des lobbyistes sur l’application de la Règle 10 du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes – Cadeaux


Directive à jour ; dernière modification . Version antérieure.

Cette directive ne limite pas l'obligation des lobbyistes de se poser les questions suivantes avant d'offrir un cadeau, une faveur ou un autre avantage à un titulaire d'une charge publique : « Est-ce que je fais du lobbying auprès de ce titulaire d'une charge publique? Est-ce que je compte le faire à l'avenir? Une personne raisonnable jugerait-elle que l'offre de ce cadeau, de cette faveur or de cet avantage au titulaire d’une charge publique constitue une tentative de l’influencer? » Si la réponse à ces questions est « oui », le lobbyiste ne devrait pas offrir le cadeau, la faveur ou l’avantage afin d’éviter de placer le titulaire d'une charge publique en situation de conflit d’intérêts.

Raison d'être de la directive de la commissaire

Les titulaires d'une charge publique sont tenus de prendre des décisions dans l'intérêt public. Lorsque des titulaires d'une charge publique sont placés en situation de conflit d'intérêts, la confiance du public en l'intégrité des décisions qu'ils prennent est minée.

Ce document vise à donner des consignes aux lobbyistes en ce qui a trait aux cadeaux afin qu’ils puissent éviter de placer des titulaires d’une charge publique en situation de conflit d’intérêts réel ou apparent. Lorsqu’ils ont des questions au sujet de l’acceptabilité d’un cadeau offert par un lobbyiste, les titulaires d’une charge publique devraient toujours consulter une autorité compétente, que ce soit le commissaire aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique, le conseiller sénatorial en éthique, ou l’agent des valeurs et de l’éthique de leur organisation.

Conflit d’intérêts

Un conflit d'intérêts est une situation où le jugement d’une personne est influencé ou pourrait être influencé à ne pas prendre des décisions au mieux des intérêts d'une organisation en raison d'un sentiment d'obligation concurrentiel. Un conflit d'intérêts est créé lorsque les intérêts personnels d'un titulaire d'une charge publique sont perçus comme étant susceptibles d'influencer son rendement dans l’exercice de ses fonctions officielles.

La Règle 6 du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes se lit comme suit :

Un lobbyiste ne doit proposer ni entreprendre aucune action qui placerait un titulaire d'une charge publique en situation de conflit d'intérêts réel ou apparent.1

L'offre ou la promesse d'un cadeau, d'une faveur ou d'un autre avantage à un titulaire d'une charge publique pourrait créer un sentiment d'obligation ou l'apparence d'un tel sentiment, ce qui pourrait générer une tension entre le premier devoir du titulaire d'une charge publique, qui est de servir l'intérêt public, et ses intérêts personnels. Pour prévenir une telle situation, la Règle 10 du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes stipule ce qui suit :

Afin d’éviter la création d'un sentiment d'obligation, un lobbyiste ne doit pas offrir ou promettre un cadeau, une faveur ou un autre avantage à un titulaire d'une charge publique, auprès duquel il fait ou fera du lobbying, que le titulaire d’une charge publique n'est pas autorisé à accepter.

Définition de « cadeau »

La commissaire définit un « cadeau » comme incluant toute chose de valeur, offerte sans frais ou à un coût moindre, lorsqu’aucune obligation de remboursement n’existe.2

Documents qui établissent les conditions relatives à l'acceptabilité des cadeaux par les titulaires d'une charge publique

Des exemples de documents que les lobbyistes pourraient consulter comprennent :

Dans quelles circonstances un cadeau est-il permis?

Selon les règles actuelles en ce qui concerne l’acceptabilité des cadeaux, les cadeaux peuvent être acceptés dans quelques cas d'exception. Généralement, une exception peut être faite lorsqu'un cadeau est offert à un titulaire d’une charge publique dans l’exercice de ses fonctions si ce geste est conforme aux règles de la courtoisie, de l'hospitalité ou du protocole. Voici quelques exemples :

  • Les rafraîchissements et/ou les repas servis lors d'un événement où le titulaire d'une charge publique a un rôle à jouer, comme un rôle cérémonial ou un rôle de présentation, ou lors d’un événement où le titulaire d'une charge publique participe activement en tant que représentant du gouvernement ou d'un ministère ou organisme fédéral.
  • Un billet pour un événement public, comme une activité communautaire ou une activité de financement pour une œuvre de bienfaisance, donné par l’organisateur de l’événement à un député pour un événement se tenant dans sa circonscription ou sa région.
  • Un cadeau offert à un titulaire d’une charge publique comme marque d'appréciation ou en témoignage de gratitude à la suite de sa participation, d’un discours ou d’une présentation.

Cadeaux inadmissibles

Si un lobbyiste fait activement du lobbying auprès d’un titulaire d’une charge publique ou compte le faire à l’avenir, les cadeaux, y compris des repas et des billets pour assister à des événements, autres que les exceptions énumérées ci-dessus, sont fort probablement inacceptables.

Les lobbyistes sont mis en garde quant à l’offre de billets gratuits ou à un coût réduit pour des activités de bienfaisance ou autres, aux titulaires d'une charge publique auprès desquels ils font du lobbying ou comptent faire du lobbying. L'offre d'un tel billet pourrait raisonnablement être perçue comme créant un sentiment d'obligation chez un titulaire d'une charge publique, et ainsi risquer de placer le titulaire d'une charge publique en situation de conflit d'intérêts. 

La facturation à un titulaire d'une charge publique du coût réel du billet (c.-à-d. le coût que le lobbyiste a payé pour le billet ou, si le coût du prix du billet comprenait un reçu pour don de bienfaisance, le coût du billet moins le montant du reçu) signifie qu'aucun cadeau n'a été offert et qu'aucun sentiment d'obligation n'a été créé en conséquence.

La commissaire au lobbying reconnaît que les règles relatives à l'acceptabilité des cadeaux par les titulaires d'une charge publique peuvent ne pas toujours être claires. En cas de doute sur l’acceptabilité d'un cadeau, le lobbyiste devrait demander au titulaire d'une charge publique s'il peut l’accepter.

Recommandations de la commissaire au sujet des réceptions pour les parlementaires

Si des lobbyistes, des entreprises ou des organisations, organisent une réception où sont conviés des parlementaires (députés ou sénateurs), ils devraient évaluer le risque posé par le fait d’inviter des parlementaires auprès desquels ils font du lobbying ou comptent faire du lobbying. La commissaire au lobbying est d’avis que le respect des trois conditions énumérées ci-dessous lorsqu’ils invitent des parlementaires atténuera le risque de créer un sentiment d’obligation  :

  1. tous les députés et/ou les sénateurs sont invités;
  2. le coût total des cadeaux fournis ou promis, le cas échéant, est raisonnable (y compris la nourriture, les rafraîchissements et tout autre objet offert aux participants); et
  3. l’invitation n’est pas accompagnée de renseignements concernant des activités de lobbying et aucune activité de lobbying ne se déroulera lors de la réception.

La commissaire encourage les lobbyistes, les entreprises et les organisations à faire preuve de prudence en prenant la décision d’inviter des parlementaires auprès desquels ils font du lobbying.

Consultez le Commissariat au lobbying

La commissaire veut aider les lobbyistes à réduire le risque que leurs activités créent une tension, ou même l'apparence d'une tension, entre les intérêts personnels et le devoir de servir l’intérêt public des titulaires d'une charge publique avec lesquels ils interagissent.

Si vous avez d'autres questions sur comment éviter de placer un titulaire d'une charge publique en situation de conflit d'intérêts, veuillez communiquer avec nous à l'adresse suivante :

Commissariat au lobbying du Canada

255, rue Albert
10e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H2
Téléphone : 613-957-2760
Télécopieur : 613-957-3078
Courriel : QuestionsLobbying@ocl-cal.gc.ca

Karen E. Shepherd
Commissaire au lobbying
Janvier 2016


1 – La directive sur la Règle 6 est disponible sur le site Web du CAL.Retour au texte

2 – Voir le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes annoté pour obtenir de plus amples détails sur la définition des cadeaux. Retour au texte

3 – La commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique a publié une directive sur les cadeaux aux titulaires d'une charge publique assujettis à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Retour au texte

4 – La commissaire aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique a publié des avis consultatifs destinés aux députés en ce qui concerne l'acceptabilité des cadeaux offerts dans le cadre des journées de lobbying, l’acceptabilité des billets et des invitations à un événement, et l’acceptabilité des cadeaux offerts lors d’événements. Retour au texte

5 – Tous les ministères et organismes sont tenus de mettre au point un code de valeurs et d'éthique. Certains ministères et organismes ont publié leurs codes sur leurs sites Web. Retour au texte


Renseignements pour télécharger un lecteur PDF
Pour consulter la version PDF (format de document portable), vous devez avoir un lecteur PDF sur votre ordinateur. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF disponibles téléchargeables en ligne :