News Release

Lobbying Commissioner satisfied with Carson verdict

Ottawa, – Commissioner of Lobbying, Karen E. Shepherd, is satisfied with the Ontario Court of Justice's guilty verdicts on all three Lobbying Act charges against Bruce Carson, who faced three counts of lobbying while subject to the five-year ban on lobbying activities.

"I am satisfied with three convictions under the Lobbying Act," said Commissioner Shepherd.

"This sends a clear message to high level government decision makers that they must comply with the Lobbying Act's five-year, post-employment prohibition on lobbying for former designated public office holders."

In the case of Mr. Carson, the Commissioner advised the RCMP on , that she had reasonable grounds to believe that an offence had occurred under the Lobbying Act. She immediately suspended her investigation and referred the matter to the RCMP, as required by the Act.

Sentencing will take place at a later date. Mr. Carson has 30 days to appeal the Court's decision. The Commissioner's Office has no further comment.

Communiqué

La commissaire au lobbying se déclare satisfaite de la décision dans l'affaire Carson

Ottawa, – La commissaire au lobbying, Karen E. Shepherd, se déclare satisfaite de la décision de la Cour de justice de l'Ontario de reconnaître Bruce Carson coupable des trois chefs d'accusation dont il a été inculpé en vertu de la Loi sur le lobbying, à savoir faire du lobbying pendant qu'il était visé par une interdiction quinquennale d'exercer des activités de lobbying.

« Je suis satisfaite des trois déclarations de culpabilité rendues en vertu de la Loi sur le lobbying », a déclaré la commissaire Shepherd.

« Cette décision fait clairement comprendre aux décideurs gouvernementaux de haut niveau qu'ils doivent respecter l'interdiction quinquennale imposée par la Loi sur le lobbying aux anciens titulaires d'une charge publique d'exercer des activités de lobbying après la cessation de leurs fonctions. »

Dans le cas de M. Carson, la commissaire avait averti la GRC le qu'elle avait des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une infraction à la Loi sur le lobbying avait été commise. Elle a immédiatement suspendu son enquête et a renvoyé le dossier à la GRC, comme l'exige la Loi.

La sentence sera prononcée à une date ultérieure. M. Carson dispose de 30 jours pour interjeter appel de la décision de la Cour. Le Commissariat n'a pas d'autres commentaires à ce sujet.