Annual Report 2016-2017 (Page 6 of 6)

Ensuring compliance with the Act and the Code

Knowledge and understanding of the Lobbying Act (the Act) and the Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct (the Code), supported by an effective education and outreach program, provide the necessary groundwork for fostering compliance. In order to effectively ensure compliance, these efforts to educate must be complemented by a program of monitoring and enforcement. It is important that there be consequences for those who are found to be in breach of either the Act or the Code.

 My compliance and enforcement program is focused on three main types of activities:

  • reviews and investigations into alleged breaches of the Act or the Code;
  • compliance verifications; and
  • reviews of applications for exemption from the five-year, post-employment prohibition on lobbying for former designated public office holders.

Reviews and investigations into alleged breaches of the Act or the Code

When an alleged breach of the Act or the Code is brought to my attention, the Investigations Directorate undertakes a preliminary assessment to determine whether the subject matter falls within my mandate. When the potential breach falls within my jurisdiction, the next step is to initiate an informal fact-finding exercise, referred to as an administrative review. In 2016-17, my Office completed 26 preliminary assessments and initiated 13 administrative reviews.

When administrative reviews are completed, the facts and analysis are presented to me so that I may conclude whether or not the allegation is founded. If the allegation is founded I decide on a suitable means of ensuring compliance. In some cases, education and monitoring is the best course of action. In other instances, I conduct a formal investigation under the Lobbying Act. In 2016-17, I initiated two investigations, as I had reason to believe that was the appropriate action necessary to ensure compliance with the Act or Code.

Files closed

Table 10 provides information about the administrative reviews I completed in 2016-17.

Table 10. Outcome of administrative reviews closed in 2016-17
Administrative Reviews Closed, by Outcome Number Closed
Total number of administrative reviews closed in 2016–17 28
Unfounded – no registrable communication 5
Unfounded – no reportable communication 1
Unfounded – no meetings arranged 2
Unfounded – no improper influence 5
Unfounded – activity not performed for payment 3
Subtotal unfounded 16
Well-founded – education and monitoring 10
Well-founded – Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct investigation opened 2
Subtotal well-founded 12
Subtotal ceased 0

The time required to complete an administrative review or an investigation varies depending on factors such as the complexity of the allegation, the availability of evidence, the number of people involved, and whether interviews are required.

The Act provides me with some degree of discretion in deciding whether to pursue or cease a review or investigation. For instance, I may choose to cease an administrative review if the subject under review enters into compliance. I consider a number of factors in making my decisions. The Guiding principles and criteria for recommending compliance measures explains the application of my discretion in this regard.

If I have reasonable grounds to believe that a person has committed an offence under the Lobbying Act or any other Act, I am required to suspend my investigation and refer the matter to the police. After a file is referred to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), they must conduct their own investigation before deciding whether to recommend charges. If charges are laid, I must wait for the matter to be resolved by the courts before determining whether to impose additional sanctions under the Act. If the police decide not to pursue the matter, I determine if I have sufficient grounds to continue with an investigation under the Code. In either case, a referral to the RCMP will impact my timelines for completing an investigation. My Office did not refer any files to the RCMP in 2016-17.

Administrative review case studies

The following case studies illustrate different outcomes of administrative reviews that were completed in 2016-17.

Lobbying While Prohibited – Allegation Unfounded

Allegation: A former designated public office holder arranged a meeting between a federal public office holder and the owner of a local business during a period they were subject to the five-year prohibition.

Conclusion: The individual had communicated with a federal public office holder and had discussed the subject of the local business, but those activities were not performed for payment.

The allegation was deemed to be unfounded as the individual was not paid to perform the activities.

Lessons learned: Lobbying activities that are not performed for payment do not trigger the requirement to register.

Gifts and Alleged Improper Influence – Various Findings

Allegation: A number of lobbyists employed by organizations allegedly breached the 1997 Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct by donating to a fund. The allegation came to the Office’s attention following media reports that a public office holder had publicly disclosed gifts of $500 and more. A search of the Registry revealed that some of the organizations were registered to lobby the federal government.

Conclusion: In one case, the organization did not engage in registrable lobbying activity, and therefore was not subject to the Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct. In two cases, the donations did not create a real or apparent conflict of interest as the lobbyists did not lobby that public office holder.

The three allegations were deemed to be unfounded.

In the remaining cases, the donation and the degree of interaction with the public office holder were such that the activities created an apparent conflict of interest.

These two allegations were deemed to be well-founded. Taking into consideration the previous compliance history of the organizations, whether the donation had been returned, and the subsequent degree of involvement in lobbying of the individuals who made the donations, education and monitoring was deemed a suitable means of ensuring future compliance.

Lessons learned: Individuals, organizations, and corporations who lobby federal public office holders should be mindful that gifts in the form of donations risk creating the appearance of a conflict of interest. The best way to avoid the perception of a conflict of interest is to avoid giving gifts to any public office holder one may lobby. The 2015 Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct and the Commissioner’s Guidance for lobbyists regarding the application of Rule 10 of the Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct – Gifts clarify the expectations for lobbyists with respect to gifts.

Gifts and Alleged Improper Influence – Various Findings

Allegation: A number of lobbyists allegedly breached the 1997 version of the Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct by offering a public office holder tickets to various dinners and receptions. Administrative reviews were undertaken to determine whether the lobbyists had created a sense of obligation on the part of the public office holder by providing the gifts, and the degree that they interacted with the public office holder in the context of their lobbying activities.

Conclusion: In three cases, the value of the tickets and the degree of interaction with the public office holder was such that the lobbyists’ activities created an apparent conflict of interest as all three organizations were registered to lobby the government institution that employed the public office holder.

The three allegations were deemed to be well-founded. Taking into consideration the compliance history of the organizations, efforts taken by the lobbyists to verify that the public office holder was in compliance with their applicable values and ethics regulations, and the general level of awareness about the propriety of gift-giving at the time, education and monitoring was deemed a suitable means of ensuring future compliance.

Lessons learned: A gift includes anything of value, given for free or at a reduced rate, when there is no obligation to repay. Lobbyists are cautioned against providing public office holders whom they are lobbying or will lobby with tickets to charitable or other events, when these tickets are at a reduced cost or no cost. The provision of such a ticket may reasonably be viewed as creating a sense of obligation on the part of a public office holder, and therefore risks creating a conflict of interest for the public office holder. The 2015 Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct and the Commissioner’s Guidance for lobbyists regarding the application of Rule 10 of the Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct – Gifts clarify the expectations for lobbyists with respect to gifts.

Compliance verifications

The Compliance Advisory Team brings together employees from across the organization and integrates education, registration, investigation, policy and IT expertise. The Team reviews existing compliance verification activities, recommends ways to make the activities more effective, and proposed new activities designed to increase compliance. Analysis of factors that may influence federal lobbying helps to determine how to improve the effectiveness of monitoring and compliance verification activities.

There are five types of compliance verification activities performed by my Office:

  • monthly communication report verifications;
  • compliance assessments;
  • compliance analyses;
  • compliance audits; and
  • media monitoring.

Monthly communication report verifications

My Office conducts verifications to confirm the accuracy of monthly communication reports submitted by lobbyists. Every month, a 5% sample of reports submitted during the previous month is selected. Designated public office holders identified in those reports are asked to validate the information. In addition to measuring the accuracy of communications reports, this process is effective in reminding designated public office holders that they are the object of reportable lobbying activities.

In 2016-17, my Office completed 136 verifications with designated public office holders, covering 867 monthly communication reports. Those verifications confirmed that 809 (93%) of the sampled reports were accurate. Of those that were found to be inaccurate, two-thirds had only minor clerical or over-reporting errors.

Compliance assessments

One year after a registrant has been advised of a breach, an assessment is conducted to determine if the registrant became compliant with the Act. The purpose is to determine whether there were repeated instances of the same type of non-compliance. Where additional kinds of non-compliance are uncovered, suitable measures are applied.

In 2016-17, my Office conducted 33 compliance assessments and found no instances of repeat non-compliance or additional non-compliance different from the original type being monitored.

Compliance analysis

My Office analyzes compliance by conducting research, reviewing and comparing lobbyists’ information in the Registry. This analysis may focus on specific sectors of the economy or on particular issues of interest to uncover potential non-compliance. As a result, my Office identifies where knowledge of the Act may be improved and where outreach and compliance efforts may be targeted to foster compliance. This year, my staff conducted five compliance analyses and sent 38 advisory letters to ensure individuals are aware of the requirements of the Act.

Compliance audits

The integrity of the Registry requires that the information it contains is complete, accurate and up-to-date. This is important to assure Canadians that lobbying is being done in a transparent manner.

Compliance audits of registrations validate the information submitted by registrants and ensure it is accurate and up-to-date. This year, my Office undertook a compliance audit that compared information about government funding in selected registrations with the amounts reported in the Government of Canada’s Public Accounts. This audit did not uncover any material inaccuracies.

Media monitoring

My Office monitors media reports to identify individuals, organizations, and corporations that may be lobbying. This information is then used to verify their registration status.

When necessary, advisory letters are sent to individuals, organizations, and corporations which may be engaging in registrable lobbying activity to ensure they are aware of the requirements of the Act and the Code. In 2016-17, following media monitoring, 76 individuals, organizations, and corporations were verified. As a result, a total of 28 advisory letters were sent to confirm compliance.

Compliance with the five-year prohibition – applications for exemption

Under the Lobbying Act, former designated public office holders are subject to a five-year prohibition on lobbying. These individuals cannot:

  • work as consultant lobbyists;
  • work for an organization and carry out lobbying activities on behalf of that organization; or
  • work for a corporation if lobbying constitutes a significant part of their work on behalf of the corporation.

The Lobbying Act gives me the authority to grant an exemption from the five-year prohibition if I determine that an exemption would not be contrary to the purposes of the Act.

In 2016-17, my Office completed 15 exemption reviews. Based on the results of those reviews, I granted nine exemptions and denied six. As required by the Act, exemptions, and the reasons for granting them, are published on the OCL’s website.

I believe that timely decisions about exemption requests lead to greater compliance with the five-year prohibition. This year, I issued all letters of intent within my 60-day service standard.

Rapport annuel 2016-2017 (Page 6 de 6)

Assurer la conformité à la Loi et au Code

La conformité repose nécessairement sur la connaissance et la compréhension de la Loi sur le lobbying (la Loi) et du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes (le Code), ce qui est favorisé par un programme d’éducation et de sensibilisation efficace. Ces efforts d’éducation doivent être menés parallèlement à un programme de surveillance et d’application de la Loi pour favoriser efficacement la conformité. Il importe que les contrevenants à la Loi ou au Code s’exposent à des conséquences.

Mon programme de conformité et d’application de la loi est axé sur trois principales activités :

  • les examens et enquêtes concernant des infractions présumées à la Loi ou au Code;
  • les vérifications de la conformité;
  • l’examen de demandes d’exemption à l’interdiction quinquennale d’exercer des activités de lobbying pour les anciens titulaires d’une charge publique désignée.

Examens et enquêtes concernant des infractions présumées à la Loi ou au Code

Lorsqu’une infraction présumée à la Loi ou au Code est portée à mon attention, la Direction des enquêtes procède à une évaluation préliminaire pour déterminer si l’objet relève de mon mandat. Lorsque l’infraction présumée relève de ma compétence, l’étape suivante consiste à entamer un exercice informel de recherche des faits, que l’on appelle un « examen administratif ». En 2016-2017, le Commissariat a réalisé 26 évaluations préliminaires et entamé 13 examens administratifs.

Au terme des examens administratifs, les faits et les analyses me sont présentés afin que je puisse déterminer si l’allégation est fondée. Dans l’affirmative, je décide des mesures à prendre afin d’assurer la conformité. Dans certains cas, l’éducation et la surveillance représentent la meilleure solution. Dans d’autres, je mène une enquête officielle aux termes de la Loi. En 2016-2017, j’ai mené deux enquêtes parce que j’avais des raisons de croire qu’il s’agissait de la mesure la plus appropriée à prendre afin d’assurer la conformité à la Loi ou au Code.

Dossiers fermés

Le Tableau 10 présente des renseignements sur les examens administratifs que j’ai réalisés en 2016-2017.

Tableau 10. Résultat des dossiers d’examen administratif fermés en 2016-2017
Résultat des examens administratifs Nombre de dossiers fermés
Total des dossiers d’examen administratif fermés en 2016-2017 28
Allégation non fondée – aucune communication enregistrable 5
Allégation non fondée – aucune communication rapportable 1
Allégation non fondée – aucune organisation de rencontre 2
Allégation non fondée – aucune influence répréhensible 5
Allégation non fondée – activité non rémunérée 3
Sous-total des allégations non fondées 16
Allégation fondée – éducation et surveillance 10
Allégation fondée – enquête relative au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes ouverte 2
Sous-total des allégations fondées 12
Sous-total des examens cessés 0

Il convient de souligner que le temps nécessaire pour réaliser un examen administratif ou une enquête varie en fonction de certains facteurs comme la complexité de l’allégation, la disponibilité des preuves, le nombre de personnes visées et la nécessité d’effectuer des entrevues.

La Loi me confère un certain pouvoir discrétionnaire dans la décision de poursuivre ou de cesser un examen ou une enquête. Par exemple, je peux choisir d’interrompre un examen administratif si la personne qui fait l’objet de l’examen se conforme. Je tiens compte d’un certain nombre de facteurs lorsque je prends mes décisions. Le document intitulé Principes directeurs et critères pour recommander des mesures de conformité explique les facteurs dont je tiens compte lorsque j’exerce ce pouvoir discrétionnaire.

Si j’ai des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’une personne a commis une infraction à la Loi sur le lobbying ou à toute autre loi, je dois suspendre mon enquête et renvoyer le dossier à la police. Après le renvoi du dossier à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), celle-ci doit mener sa propre enquête avant de décider si elle recommande de porter des accusations. Si des accusations sont portées, je dois attendre que les tribunaux règlent le dossier avant de déterminer si des pénalités supplémentaires doivent être imposées en vertu de la Loi. Si la police décide de ne pas donner suite au dossier, je dois déterminer si j’ai des motifs suffisants de poursuivre l’enquête en vertu du Code. Quel que soit le cas, un renvoi à la GRC aura une incidence sur le temps qu’il me faut pour mener à bien une enquête. Le Commissariat n’a renvoyé aucun dossier à la GRC en 2016-2017.

Examen administratif : études de cas

Les études de cas ci-dessous présentent les différents dénouements des examens administratifs que j’ai réalisés en 2016-2017.

Activités de lobbying pendant la période d’interdiction – allégation non fondée

Allégation : Un ancien titulaire d’une charge publique désignée a organisé une rencontre entre un titulaire d’une charge publique au gouvernement fédéral et le propriétaire d’une entreprise locale alors qu’il était assujetti à l’interdiction quinquennale.

Conclusion : La personne avait communiqué avec le titulaire d’une charge publique au gouvernement fédéral et avait parlé avec lui de l’objet de l’entreprise locale, mais ces activités n’étaient pas rémunérées.

L’allégation a été jugée non fondée, car la personne n’était pas rémunérée pour mener ces activités.

Leçons retenues : Les activités de lobbying qui ne sont pas exécutées en échange d’une rémunération ne sont pas assujetties à l’obligation de s’enregistrer.

Cadeaux et influence présumée répréhensible – constats variés

Allégation : Un certain nombre de lobbyistes employés par des organisations auraient enfreint le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes de 1997 en contribuant financièrement à un fonds. L’allégation a été portée à l’attention du Commissariat par des reportages signalant que le titulaire d’une charge publique avait déclaré publiquement avoir reçu des dons de 500 $ et plus. Une recherche dans le Registre a montré que certaines des organisations concernées étaient enregistrées pour exercer des activités de lobbying auprès du gouvernement fédéral.

Conclusion : Dans un cas, l’organisation ne se livrait pas à des activités de lobbying enregistrables. Elle n’était donc pas assujettie au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes. Dans deux autres cas, les dons ne créaient pas un conflit d’intérêts réel ou apparent, car les lobbyistes n’étaient pas actifs auprès du titulaire de la charge publique concerné.

Les trois allégations ont été jugées non fondées.

Dans les autres cas, les dons et le niveau d’interaction avec le titulaire de la charge publique étaient tels que les activités créaient un conflit d’intérêts réel ou apparent.

Ces deux allégations ont été jugées fondées. À la lumière de différents facteurs – les antécédents de ces organisations au regard de la conformité; ce qui avait été fait avec les dons (remis ou pas); le degré d’engagement dans les activités de lobbying de la part des personnes qui avaient versé les dons – il a été établi que l’éducation et la surveillance étaient les meilleures mesures à prendre pour assurer la conformité de ces organisations à l’avenir.

Leçons retenues : Les personnes, les organisations et les personnes morales qui exercent des activités de lobbying auprès de titulaires d’une charge publique au gouvernement fédéral devraient savoir qu’un cadeau versé sous forme de don risque de créer une apparence de conflit d’intérêts. La meilleure façon de ne pas donner l’impression qu’il y a un conflit d’intérêts, c’est de ne pas faire de cadeaux à un titulaire d’une charge publique qui pourrait être visé par des activités de lobbying. Le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes de 2015 et la Directive de la commissaire à l’intention des lobbyistes sur l’application de la Règle 10 du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes – Cadeaux font clairement état des attentes nourries à l’endroit des lobbyistes en ce qui a trait aux cadeaux.

Cadeaux et influence présumée répréhensible – constats variés

Allégation : Un certain nombre de lobbyistes étaient présumés avoir commis une infraction au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes de 1997, car ils avaient offert au titulaire d’une charge publique des billets pour assister à différents dîners et réceptions. Des examens administratifs ont été réalisés pour déterminer si les lobbyistes avaient créé un sentiment d’obligation chez le titulaire d’une charge publique en lui offrant des cadeaux, et établir jusqu’à quel point ils avaient interagi avec le titulaire d’une charge publique dans le contexte des activités de lobbying.

Conclusion : Dans les trois cas, la valeur des billets et l’interaction avec le titulaire d’une charge publique étaient telles que les activités des lobbyistes avaient créé un conflit d’intérêts apparent, car les trois organisations étaient enregistrées pour leurs activités de lobbying auprès de l’institution gouvernementale qui employait le titulaire d’une charge publique.

Les trois allégations ont été jugées fondées. Étant donné les antécédents des organisations au regard de la conformité, des efforts déployés par les lobbyistes pour vérifier si, à ce moment-là, le titulaire d’une charge publique se conformait à leurs propres règles de valeurs et d’éthique au sujet des cadeaux, on a jugé que l’éducation et la surveillance étaient les moyens à prendre pour veiller à la conformité ultérieure des parties concernées.

Leçons retenues : Un cadeau comprend n’importe quel objet de valeur offert gratuitement ou à prix réduit, sans obligation de remboursement. Les lobbyistes ne devraient pas offrir aux titulaires d’une charge publique auprès desquels ils font du lobbying ou comptent faire du lobbying des billets gratuits ou à un coût réduit pour des activités de bienfaisance ou autres. L’offre d’un tel billet pourrait raisonnablement être perçue comme créant un sentiment d’obligation chez un titulaire d’une charge publique, et ainsi risquer de placer le titulaire d’une charge publique en situation de conflit d’intérêts. Le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes de 2015 et la Directive de la commissaire à l’intention des lobbyistes sur l’application de la Règle 10 du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes – Cadeaux font clairement état des attentes nourries à l’endroit des lobbyistes en ce qui a trait aux cadeaux.

Vérifications de la conformité

L’Équipe consultative sur la conformité est composée d’employés des divers services du Commissariat, y compris des experts en sensibilisation, enregistrement, enquête, politiques et TI. L’Équipe passe en revue les activités de vérification de la conformité existantes, recommande des stratégies visant à gagner en efficacité et propose des activités susceptibles d’accroître la conformité. L’analyse des facteurs qui pourraient influencer les activités de lobbying auprès du gouvernement fédéral contribue à déterminer l’efficacité des activités de surveillance et de vérification de la conformité.

Le Commissariat exécute cinq types d’activités de surveillance et de vérification de la conformité :

  • vérifications des rapports mensuels de communications;
  • évaluations de la conformité;
  • analyses de la conformité;
  • vérifications de la conformité;
  • suivi des médias.

Vérifications des rapports mensuels de communications

Le CAL effectue des vérifications afin de confirmer l’exactitude des rapports mensuels de communications soumis par les lobbyistes. Un échantillon de 5 % des rapports soumis au cours du mois précédent est sélectionné tous les mois. Les titulaires d’une charge publique désignée qui sont mentionnés dans les rapports mensuels de communications sont invités à valider les renseignements. Outre qu’il permet d’évaluer l’exactitude des rapports de communications, ce processus est efficace pour ce qui est de rappeler aux titulaires d’une charge publique désignée qu’ils sont l’objet d’activités de lobbying enregistrables.

En 2016-2017, le Commissariat a réalisé 136 vérifications auprès de titulaires d’une charge publique désignée, couvrant 867 rapports mensuels de communications. Ces vérifications ont permis de confirmer que 809 (93 %) des rapports contenus dans l’échantillon étaient exacts. Deux tiers des rapports jugés inexacts ne comportaient que des erreurs d’écriture mineures ou des renseignements superflus.

Évaluations de la conformité

Une année après que le déclarant est informé d’une infraction, une évaluation est effectuée pour déterminer s’il s’est conformé à la Loi. L’évaluation vise à déterminer s’il y a eu des récidives du même type de non-conformité. Lorsque d’autres types de non-conformité sont constatés, des mesures appropriées sont prises afin d’assurer la conformité à la Loi.

En 2016-2017, le CAL a effectué 33 évaluations de la conformité et n’a constaté aucune récidive en ce qui concerne la non-conformité ou d’autres cas de non-conformité différents du premier faisant l’objet d’une surveillance.

Analyse de la conformité

Le CAL analyse la conformité en effectuant des recherches ainsi qu’en examinant et en comparant les renseignements des lobbyistes contenus dans le Registre. Une attention peut être portée à des secteurs précis de l’économie ou des questions d’intérêt particulières pour découvrir des cas possibles de non-conformité. L’analyse permet au Commissariat de circonscrire les domaines où il y aurait lieu d’améliorer les connaissances sur la Loi et de cibler les efforts de sensibilisation et d’application de la loi afin de favoriser la conformité. Cette année, mon personnel a effectué cinq analyses de la conformité et envoyé 38 lettres d’avis pour s’assurer que les personnes visées connaissent les exigences de la Loi.

Vérifications de la conformité

Pour que l’intégrité du Registre soit préservée, les renseignements qu’il contient doivent être complets, exacts et à jour. Il s’agit d’un point important, car il donne à la population canadienne l’assurance que les activités de lobbying sont exercées de manière transparente.

Les vérifications de la conformité des enregistrements permettent de valider les renseignements soumis par les déclarants et de s’assurer qu’ils sont exacts et à jour. Cette année, le CAL a réalisé une vérification de la conformité comparant l’information au sujet du financement public contenue dans des enregistrements choisis aux montants indiqués dans les Comptes publics du gouvernement du Canada. Cette vérification n’a pas permis de trouver des inexactitudes importantes.

Suivi des médias

Le CAL surveille sur une base quotidienne les reportages des médias pour connaître l’identité des particuliers, des personnes morales et des organisations susceptibles d’exercer des activités de lobbying. Cette information sert ensuite à vérifier leur état d’enregistrement.

Le cas échéant, des lettres d’avis sont envoyées à des personnes, des organisations et des personnes morales se livrant peut-être à des activités de lobbying devant être déclarées, afin de leur rappeler les exigences de la Loi et du Code. En 2016-2017, à la suite de la surveillance des médias, 76 particuliers, personnes morales et organisations ont fait l’objet d’une vérification. En tout, 28 lettres d’avis ont été envoyées pour confirmer la conformité à la Loi et au Code.

Conformité avec l’interdiction quinquennale – demandes d’exemption

Conformément à la Loi, les anciens titulaires d’une charge publique désignée sont assujettis à l’interdiction d’exercer des activités de lobbying pendant cinq ans. Ces personnes ne peuvent pas :

  • exercer les fonctions de lobbyiste-conseil;
  • mener des activités de lobbying au nom d’une organisation pour laquelle elles travaillent;
  • être employés d’une personne morale en tant que lobbyistes salariés si leurs activités de lobbying représentent une partie importante de leurs fonctions au sein de la personne morale.

La Loi me confère le pouvoir d’accorder une exemption à l’interdiction quinquennale si je détermine qu’une exemption n’est pas incompatible avec l’objet de la Loi.

En 2016-2017, le CAL a examiné 15 demandes d’exemption. En fonction des résultats de ces examens, j’ai accordé neuf exemptions et j’en ai refusé six. Conformément à la Loi, les exemptions accordées et les motifs les justifiant sont publiés sur le site Web du CAL.

Je crois que des décisions rapides dans le cas de demandes d’exemption favorisent l’amélioration de la conformité à l’interdiction quinquennale. Cette année, toutes les lettres d’intention ont été envoyées en respectant la norme de service de 60 jours.