News Release

Commissioner finds former DPOH in breach of the Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct

Ottawa,  — The Commissioner of Lobbying, Karen E. Shepherd, tabled a Report on Investigation today with both Houses of Parliament on the lobbying activities of Trina Morissette.

The Commissioner concluded that Ms. Morissette was in breach of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct. She determined that Ms. Morissette engaged in registrable lobbying activities while subject to the five-year prohibition on lobbying that applies to former designated public holders.

"Lobbyists have certain legal and ethical obligations to follow when they work on behalf of clients or employers," the Commissioner stated. "The five-year prohibition applies to all former designated public office holders, regardless of the nature of the activity or the end goal."

The Lobbying Act and the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct ensure that lobbying is done transparently and with high ethical standards, with a view to safeguarding public confidence and trust in the integrity, objectivity and impartiality of government decision-making.

Breaches of the Code do not carry fines or jail terms. After conducting an investigation under the Code, the Commissioner is required to table a Report on Investigation in Parliament to present her findings and conclusions, and the reasons for those conclusions.

For more information, contact:

Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying
613-952-4306
media@ocl-cal.gc.ca

Communiqué

La commissaire conclut qu’une ancienne titulaire d’une charge publique désignée a enfreint le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes

Ottawa, le 30 novembre 2017 — La commissaire au lobbying, Karen E. Shepherd, a déposé aujourd'hui devant les deux chambres du Parlement son rapport d'enquête sur les activités de lobbying de Trina Morissette.

La commissaire a conclu que Mme Morissette avait enfreint le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes. Elle a déterminé que Mme Morissette s'était livrée à des activités de lobbying nécessitant une déclaration pendant qu’elle était assujettie à l’interdiction quinquennale d’exercer des activités de lobbying qui s’applique aux anciens titulaires d’une charge publique désignée.

« Les lobbyistes ont certaines obligations légales et éthiques à respecter lorsqu'ils travaillent pour le compte de clients ou d'employeurs, a déclaré la commissaire. L’interdiction quinquennale s'applique à tous les anciens titulaires d’une charge publique désignée, peu importe la nature de l'activité ou l'objectif final. »

La Loi sur le lobbying et le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes ont pour objet de s'assurer que le lobbying s’effectue de manière transparente et selon des normes éthiques élevées afin de préserver la confiance du public à l’égard de l’intégrité, de l’objectivité et de l’impartialité du processus décisionnel du gouvernement.

Les infractions au Code n’entraînent pas d’amendes ou de peines d’emprisonnement. Après avoir mené une enquête en vertu du Code, la commissaire est tenue de présenter au Parlement un rapport exposant ses constatations et ses conclusions, ainsi que les motifs de celles-ci.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Commissariat au lobbying du Canada
613-952-4306
media@lobbycanada.gc.ca