Guidance to mitigate conflicts of interest resulting from political activities

Rule 9 – When a lobbyist undertakes political activities on behalf of a person which could reasonably be seen to create a sense of obligation, they may not lobby that person for a specified period if that person is or becomes a public office holder. If that person is an elected official, the lobbyist shall also not lobby staff in their Office(s).

Political activities and conflict of interest

If you undertake political activities on behalf of a person who is or becomes a public office holder, they can reasonably be perceived to be in a conflict of interest if you lobby them. A public office holder who benefits from political activities may have a sense of obligation towards those who undertook the activities. The risk of creating a sense of obligation increases with the frequency, quantity and strategic importance of the political activities, as well as with the degree of interaction with candidates.

Political activities with a higher risk of creating a sense of obligation

Political activities that are strategic in nature or involve significant interaction with candidates pose a higher risk of creating a sense of obligation on the part of a person benefiting from them who is or becomes a public office holder.

The sense of obligation towards you decreases over time. If you engage in higher-risk political activities then you should not lobby any public office holder who benefited from them, nor their staff, for a period equivalent to a full election cycle.

Examples of higher-risk political activities:

  • Serving as a campaign chair or in another strategic role on a campaign team;
  • Serving in a named position on behalf of a registered party as set out in the Canada Elections Act;
  • Serving as an electoral district association officer within the meaning of the Canada Elections Act, such as chief executive officer, financial agent, appointed auditor, or any other officer;
  • Organizing a political fundraising event;
  • Gathering or soliciting donations that you then provide to a registered party or electoral district association;
  • Working in a war room for a registered party in a strategic role;
  • Preparing candidates for debates; or
  • Acting as a designated spokesperson for a political candidate, campaign, registered party, electoral district association, or other organization.

Political activities less likely to create a sense of obligation

Political activities that are not strategic in nature and do not involve significant interaction with candidates pose a lower risk or no risk of creating a sense of obligation on the part of a person benefiting from them who is or becomes a public office holder.

Occasional involvement in the lower-risk political activities below does not restrict your lobbying of a public office holder who benefits from them. However, frequent involvement or involvement in multiple such activities increases the risk of creating a sense of obligation on the part of a public office holder who benefits from them. If so, you should exercise caution if you are considering lobbying that public office holder or their staff.

Examples of lower-risk political activities:

  • Volunteering, canvassing, or scrutineering for a registered party or electoral riding association without significantly interacting with candidates;
  • Attending fundraising events; or
  • Expressing personal political views strictly in an individual capacity.

Examples of no-risk political activities:

  • Displaying campaign signs or posters; or
  • Making personal donations within the limits established in the Canada Elections Act.

Questions? Contact us at QuestionsLobbying@ocl-cal.gc.ca or 613-957-2760.

Lignes directrices pour atténuer les conflits d'intérêts découlant d'activités politiques

Règle 9 – Si un lobbyiste entreprend des activités politiques pour le compte d'une personne qui pourraient vraisemblablement faire croire à la création d'un sentiment d'obligation, il ne peut pas faire de lobbying auprès de cette personne pour une période déterminée si cette personne est ou devient un titulaire d'une charge publique. Si cette personne est un élu, le lobbyiste ne doit pas non plus faire de lobbying auprès du personnel du bureau dudit titulaire.

Activités politiques et conflits d'intérêts

Si vous entreprenez des activités politiques au nom d'une personne qui est ou devient un titulaire d'une charge publique, il est raisonnable de croire qu'elle se trouverait en conflit d'intérêts si vous faites du lobbying auprès d'elle. Le titulaire d'une charge publique qui bénéficie d'activités politiques peut avoir un sentiment d'obligation envers ceux qui ont entrepris ces activités. Le risque de créer un sentiment d'obligation augmente avec la fréquence, la quantité et l'importance stratégique des activités politiques ainsi qu'avec le degré d'interaction avec les candidats.

Activités politiques comportant un risque plus élevé de créer un sentiment d'obligation

Les activités politiques qui sont de nature stratégique ou qui comportent une interaction importante avec les candidats risquent fort de créer un sentiment d'obligation chez la personne qui en bénéficie et qui est ou devient un titulaire d'une charge publique.

Le sentiment d'obligation envers vous diminue avec le temps. Si vous participez à des activités politiques à risques plus élevés, vous ne devriez pas faire de lobbying auprès d'un titulaire d'une charge publique qui en bénéficie, ni auprès de son personnel, pendant une période équivalente à un cycle électoral complet.

Exemples d'activités politiques à risques plus élevés :

  • agir comme directeur de campagne ou assumer un autre rôle stratégique au sein d'une équipe de campagne;
  • agir dans une position nommée pour le compte d'un parti enregistré, tel qu'il est stipulé dans la Loi électorale du Canada;
  • agir à titre d'agent d'une association de circonscription au sens de la Loi électorale du Canada, notamment à titre de premier dirigeant, d'agent financier, de vérificateur nommé ou de tout autre agent;
  • organiser une activité de financement politique;
  • amasser ou solliciter des dons que vous offrez ensuite à un parti enregistré ou à une association de circonscription;
  • occuper un poste stratégique au quartier général d'un parti enregistré;
  • préparer des candidats aux débats;
  • agir à titre de porte-parole désigné d'un candidat politique, d'une campagne, d'un parti enregistré, d'une association de circonscription ou d'une autre organisation.

Activités politiques moins susceptibles de créer un sentiment d'obligation

Les activités politiques qui ne sont pas de nature stratégique et qui n'impliquent pas d'interaction importante avec les candidats présentent un risque plus faible ou même aucun risque de créer un sentiment d'obligation de la part d'une personne qui en bénéficie et qui est ou devient un titulaire d'une charge publique.

Une participation occasionnelle à des activités politiques à risques plus faibles énumérées ci-dessous ne limite pas vos activités de lobbying auprès d'un titulaire d'une charge publique qui en bénéficie. Toutefois, la participation fréquente ou multiple à de telles activités augmente le risque de créer un sentiment d'obligation de la part d'un titulaire d'une charge publique qui en bénéficie. Si cela est le cas, vous devez faire preuve de prudence si vous envisagez de faire du lobbying auprès de ce titulaire d'une charge publique ou de son personnel.

Exemples d'activités politiques à risques plus faibles :

  • faire du bénévolat, du démarchage ou agir à titre de représentant au scrutin au nom d'un parti enregistré ou d'une association de circonscription sans interagir de façon importante avec les candidats;
  • assister à des événements de collecte de fonds;
  • exprimer ses opinions politiques personnelles strictement à titre individuel.

Exemples d'activités politiques sans risque :

  • afficher des signes ou affiches partisanes;
  • faire des dons personnels selon les limites fixées par la Loi électorale du Canada.

Questions? Contactez-nous à QuestionsLobbying@ocl-cal.gc.ca ou au 613-957-2760.