News Release

Lobbying Commissioner of Canada releases a report on investigation related to sponsored travel and makes recommendation to improve transparency of lobbying regime

Ottawa,  — The Commissioner of Lobbying Canada, Nancy Bélanger, released her first report on investigation titled Sponsored travel provided by lobbyists. The Commissioner is required to table in the House of Commons and the Senate a report following an investigation outlining her findings and conclusions.

The report is the result of 19 investigations conducted in parallel by the Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying. It involves 19 corporations and organizations that provided sponsored travel to members of the House of Commons and the Senate between 2009 and 2016.

While the Commissioner found no contraventions of the Lobbying Act or the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct, she noted a gap in transparency of information disclosed in the Registry of Lobbyists related to sponsored travel.

In the report, the Commissioner recommended an amendment to close this gap and improve the overall transparency of the federal lobbying regime. This could be considered by Parliament during the next review of the Lobbying Act or could also be addressed through a review and update of the Lobbyists Registration Regulations.

Quotes

"I observed that lobbyists are not required to disclose that their lobbying occurred during sponsored travel or that they had previously provided sponsored travel to parliamentarians when they report subsequent lobbying in the Registry of Lobbyists."

"The absence of this information could prevent the public from having a more complete understanding of the circumstances in which both public policy is formed and public decision-making takes place."

"Amending disclosure requirements to include additional information that the Commissioner of Lobbying considers relevant would ensure that sponsored travel is captured as part of the context in which lobbying occurred."

– Nancy Bélanger, Commissioner of Lobbying of Canada

Read the investigation report:

Related information

Contacts

For media enquiries, please contact:

Telephone: 613-952-4306

Email: media@ocl-cal.gc.ca

For general enquiries, please contact:

Telephone: 613-957-2760

Email: questionslobbying@ocl-cal.gc.ca

Communiqué

La commissaire au lobbying du Canada publie un rapport d'enquête sur les déplacements parrainés et fait une recommandation pour améliorer la transparence du régime de lobbying

Ottawa,  — La commissaire au lobbying du Canada, Nancy Bélanger, a publié son premier rapport d'enquête intitulé Déplacements parrainés offerts par les lobbyistes. Après avoir mené une enquête, la commissaire au lobbying doit déposer un rapport dans lequel elle présente les résultats et ses conclusions.

Le rapport fournit les résultats d'enquêtes parallèles menées par le Commissariat au lobbying concernant 19 entreprises et organisations ayant offert des déplacements parrainés à des députés et à des sénateurs entre 2009 et 2016.

Bien que la commissaire n'a trouvé aucune infraction à la Loi sur le lobbying ou au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes, elle a relevé une lacune dans la transparence des informations divulguées dans le Registre des lobbyistes concernant les déplacements parrainés.

Dans son rapport, la commissaire recommande une modification visant à combler cette lacune et à améliorer la transparence globale du régime fédéral de lobbying. Cette modification pourrait être étudiée par le Parlement lors du prochain examen de la Loi sur le lobbying. Elle pourrait également être étudiée dans le cadre d'un examen et d'une mise à jour du Règlement sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes.

Citations

« J'ai observé que les lobbyistes ne sont pas tenus de divulguer que leurs activités de lobbying ont eu lieu pendant des déplacements parrainés ou qu'ils ont déjà offert des déplacements parrainés à des parlementaires lorsqu'ils déclarent des activités subséquentes de lobbying dans le Registre des lobbyistes. »

« L'absence d'information pourrait empêcher le public de mieux comprendre les circonstances dans lesquelles les politiques publiques sont élaborées et les décisions sont prises. »

« Modifier les exigences en matière de divulgation pour inclure toute information supplémentaire que la commissaire au lobbying juge pertinente permettrait que les déplacements parrainés soient pris en compte pour bien comprendre le contexte dans lequel le lobbying a eu lieu. »

– Nancy Bélanger, Commissaire au lobbying du Canada

Pour lire le rapport :

Informations connexes

Contacts

Pour toutes demandes se rapportant aux médias, veuillez communiquer avec :

Téléphone : 613-952-4306

Courriel : media@ocl-cal.gc.ca

Pour toutes autres requêtes, veuillez communiquer avec :

Téléphone : 613-957-2760

Courriel : questionslobbying@lobbycanada.gc.ca