Lobbying and the election

If you lobby or will lobby in the future, the election may affect you. Here's what you should know.

Registration and reporting requirements during an election campaign

The Prime Minister, Ministers, and Ministers of State, and their staff retain their status as designated public office holders during a federal election period. Find out more about registration and reporting requirements during an election campaign.

Guidance to mitigate conflicts of interest resulting from political activities

If you undertake political activities on behalf of a person who is or becomes a public office holder, they can reasonably be perceived to be in a conflict of interest if you lobby them. Find out about which political activities carry a higher risk of creating a sense of obligation.

Guidance to mitigate conflicts of interest resulting from preferential access

If you share a relationship with a public office holder that can reasonably be seen to provide you with preferential access to them, then they can be perceived to be in a conflict of interest if you lobby or arrange meetings with them.

If you have such a relationship with a public office holder, you should not lobby or arrange meetings with them. Find out which relationships have a high risk of being seen to create preferential access.

Five-year post-employment prohibition on lobbying

A 5-year prohibition on lobbying applies to former designated public office holders (e.g. members of Parliament, ministers and their staff, etc.) This prohibition begins immediately following the last day of employment as a designated public office holder. Find out if the 5-year post-employment prohibition applies to you:

Le lobbying et l'élection

Si vous faites du lobbying ou si vous ferez du lobbying dans le futur, l'élection peut vous toucher. Voici ce que vous devez savoir.

Exigences en matière d'enregistrement et de déclarations pendant une campagne électorale

Le premier ministre, les ministres, les ministres d'État ainsi que leur personnel conservent le statut de titulaire d'une charge publique désignée pendant une période électorale fédérale. En savoir plus sur les exigences en matière d'enregistrement et de déclarations pendant une campagne électorale.

Lignes directrices pour atténuer les conflits d'intérêts découlant d'activités politiques

Si vous entreprenez des activités politiques au nom d'une personne qui est ou devient un titulaire d'une charge publique, il est raisonnable de croire qu'elle se trouverait en conflit d'intérêts si vous faites du lobbying auprès d'elle. Découvrez quelles activités politiques comportent un risque plus élevé de créer un sentiment d'obligation.

Lignes directrices pour atténuer les conflits d'intérêts découlant de l'accès préférentiel

Si vous entretenez une relation avec un titulaire d'une charge publique qui peut raisonnablement être perçue comme vous donnant un accès préférentiel à ce titulaire, ce dernier peut être perçu comme étant en conflit d'intérêts si vous faites du lobbying ou organisez des réunions avec lui.

Si vous entretenez une telle relation avec un titulaire d'une charge publique, vous ne devriez pas faire de lobbying ou organiser des rencontres avec lui. Découvrez quelles relations présentent un risque élevé d'être perçues comme créant un accès préférentiel.

Interdiction quinquennale d'après-mandat concernant les activités de lobbying

Une interdiction quinquennale d'exercer des activités de lobbying s'applique pour les anciens titulaires d'une charge publique désignée (e.g. députés, ministres et leur personnel, etc.) Cette interdiction prend effet immédiatement après le dernier jour d'emploi en tant que titulaire d'une charge publique désignée. Découvrez si l'interdiction de 5 ans d'après-mandat s'applique à vous :