The Commissioner of Lobbying

Nancy Bélanger was appointed by both houses of Parliament under the Lobbying Act (the Act) as Commissioner of Lobbying on December 30, 2017, for a seven-year term.

As an independent Agent of Parliament, Commissioner Bélanger is responsible for administering and enforcing the Act. The Commissioner's mandate is to maintain a registry of lobbyists to increase the transparency of lobbying activities, foster greater awareness of the Act through education and outreach, and enforce compliance with the Act and the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct.

Nancy Bélanger holds a Bachelor of Laws and a Master of Laws from the University of Ottawa, and is a member in good standing of the Law Society of Upper Canada.

She joined the federal Public Service in 1993 as a Law Clerk with the Federal Court of Canada.

Nancy Bélanger has held positions with the Department of Justice and was Executive Officer to the Chief Justice of the Federal Court. She was also a Senior Legal Advisor with the Immigration and Refugee Board.

In the past decade, she has served in the offices of two Agents of Parliament. In 2007, she joined the senior management team as General Counsel at the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner. In July 2013, she became General Counsel and Director of Legal Services for the Office of the Information Commissioner, a position she held until August 2017 when she became Deputy Commissioner, Legal Services and Public Affairs.

Read the latest from the Commissioner.

La commissaire au lobbying

Nancy Bélanger a été nommée commissaire au lobbying par les deux chambres du Parlement en vertu de la Loi sur le lobbying (la Loi) le 30 décembre 2017 pour un mandat de sept ans.

Comme agent indépendant du Parlement, la commissaire Bélanger est responsable pour l’administration de la Loi et pour assurer sa conformité. La commissaire a pour mandat de gérer un registre des lobbyistes pour assurer la transparence des activités de lobbying, augmenter les connaissances de la Loi par un programme d’éducation et de sensibilisation, et assurer la conformité avec la Loi et le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes.

Nancy Bélanger détient un baccalauréat et une maîtrise en droit de l’Université d’Ottawa, et est membre en bonne et due forme du Barreau du Haut-Canada.

Elle s’est jointe à la fonction publique en 1993 à titre d’auxiliaire juridique à la Cour fédérale du Canada.

Nancy Bélanger a occupé des postes au ministère de la Justice et a été attachée de direction auprès du juge en chef de la Cour fédérale. Elle a également été conseillère juridique principale à la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié.

Au cours de la dernière décennie, elle a servi auprès de deux agents du Parlement. En 2007, elle s’est jointe à la haute direction en tant qu’avocate générale du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique. En juillet 2013, elle est devenue avocate générale et directrice des services juridiques du Commissariat à l’information, poste qu’elle a occupé jusqu’en août 2017, au moment où elle est devenue sous-commissaire, Services juridiques et Affaires publiques.

Lire les dernières nouvelles de la commissaire au lobbying.