Message from the Commissioner of Lobbying

I am pleased to start my mandate as Commissioner of Lobbying of Canada and take on the responsibility of administering the Lobbying Act and the Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct.

I am committed to increasing outreach and educational activities to foster a shared understanding of the obligations stemming from the Act and the Code. In addition, efforts will be made to raise the profile of the Office with the public, as Canadians deserve to have a better understanding of the role that lobbying plays in our democratic society and of the rules that govern it.

I have confidence in lobbyists’ willingness to work in compliance with the established rules. I will work collaboratively with lobbyists; I will listen to them and benefit from their experience, while adhering to my role as regulator. Based on my experience and legal training, my decisions will be fair and impartial, in accordance with the Act.

The Registry of Lobbyists continues to be the primary instrument to ensure transparency in lobbying at the federal level. I will strive to ensure that the necessary investments are made in order to make it a modern, easy to access tool.

Finally, the success of my Office depends on the day-to-day dedication of its team of professionals. I will ensure that the Office remains an employer of choice by maintaining a workplace that values everyone’s contributions, respects its employees, and fosters their health and well-being.

In July 2018, the Office will celebrate its tenth anniversary. This milestone will be an opportunity to highlight our achievements and renew our commitment to working with lobbyists, public office holders, and our provincial, municipal and international counterparts.

It is with confidence and enthusiasm that I start this new position in collaboration with all stakeholders.

Nancy Bélanger
Commissioner of Lobbying


RSS Feed

Get notified when we post new content.

RSSOCL

View a list of all our RSS Feeds.

Message de la commissaire au lobbying

Je suis heureuse de commencer mon mandat de commissaire au lobbying du Canada, responsable de l'administration de la Loi sur le lobbying et du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes.

Je m’engage à accroître les activités de sensibilisation et d’éducation dans le but de promouvoir une compréhension commune des obligations de la Loi et du Code. De plus, des efforts seront déployés pour rehausser le profil du Commissariat auprès du public canadien, qui mérite de mieux connaître la place du lobbying dans notre société démocratique et les règles qui le régissent.

J’ai confiance dans la volonté des lobbyistes de travailler en conformité avec les règles établies. Je travaillerai en collaboration avec les lobbyistes; je les écouterai et profiterai de leur expérience, tout en respectant mon rôle de régulateur. Basées sur mon expérience et ma formation juridique, mes décisions seront justes et impartiales, conformément à la Loi.

Le registre des lobbyistes demeure le principal instrument assurant la transparence des activités de lobbying au fédéral. Je m’assurerai que les investissements nécessaires soient réalisés pour en faire un outil moderne et facile d’accès.

Finalement, le succès du Commissariat repose sur le dévouement quotidien du personnel professionnel qui y travaille. Je ferai en sorte que le Commissariat demeure un employeur de choix; un endroit qui valorise la contribution de chacune et chacun et où le respect, la santé et le bien-être des employés règnent.

En juillet 2018, le Commissariat célèbrera son dixième anniversaire. Cet événement est une occasion de souligner les accomplissements et de renouveler notre engagement à travailler avec les lobbyistes, les titulaires d’une charge publique ainsi que les homologues provinciaux, municipaux et internationaux.

C’est avec confiance et enthousiasme que j’entame mes nouvelles fonctions en collaboration avec les parties prenantes.

Nancy Bélanger
Commissaire au lobbying


Fil RSS

Soyez informé lorsque nous affichons du nouveau contenu.

RSSCAL

Voir la liste de tous nos fils RSS.