Memorandum of Understanding

Between

The Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner
Acting through and as represented by the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner (hereinafter referred to as “OCIEC”)

And

The Commissioner of Lobbying of Canada
Acting through and as represented by the Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying of Canada (hereinafter referred to as “OCL”)

1. Definition

For the purposes of this Memorandum of Understanding, in addition to the respective definitions under section 2 of the Conflict of Interest Act and section 2 of the Lobbying Act, a public office holder must be read to include “reporting public office holder” and “designated public office holder,” as defined in each Act.

2. Mandates

The mandate of the OCIEC, under the Parliament of Canada Act, includes performing the duties and functions assigned to the Commissioner under the Conflict of Interest Act and those assigned by the House of Commons for governing the conduct of its Members.

The purpose of the Conflict of Interest Act is, inter alia, to establish clear conflict of interest and post-employment rules for public office holders, and to minimize the possibility of conflicts of interest arising between the private interests and public duties of public office holders. The Conflict of Interest Code for Members of the House of Commons provides that the Commissioner shall undertake educational activities for Members and the general public regarding the Code and the role of the Commissioner.

The OCL’s mandate under the Lobbying Act is to ensure transparency in the lobbying of federal public office holders. The Lobbying Act provides that the Commissioner of Lobbying’s duties and functions include the development and implementation of educational programs to foster public awareness of the Act’s requirements, particularly on the part of lobbyists, their clients and public office holders, including those in relation to the Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct.

3. Purpose

In light of their respective mandates, of the complementary nature of these two regimes in contributing to public confidence in the integrity of government decision-making, and of the overlapping rules applicable to both lobbyists and public office holders, the purpose of this Memorandum of Understanding is to establish a framework to foster co-operation between the OCIEC and the OCL on matters of education and outreach in order to provide guidance to public office holders and lobbyists in respect of their obligations under their respective regimes and to ensure consistency, comprehensiveness and clarity in such matters.

4. Scope of activities

The scope of activities will be focused on advancing the understanding of the obligations in the Lobbying Act, Conflict of Interest Act, and Conflict of Interest Code for Members of the House of Commons. Activities will include, but not be limited to:
  • Contributing to the development of educational material;
  • Organizing or contributing to workshops and symposia;
  • Organizing mutually-agreed upon activities.
Other activities forming part of this agreement, which have been undertaken by the OCIEC to assist the OCL in delivering on its mandate, include:
  • Informing certain public office holders once they leave office of the five-year prohibition on lobbying and providing them with the OCL’s contact information;
  • Upon request, confirming dates of departure of certain public holders.
A proposal on any joint activity or initiative shall first be approved by both the OCIEC and the OCL. The proposal shall include a detailed description of the activity or initiative, the respective roles of each party, and the estimated costs.

5. Interpretation and application

The OCIEC and the OCL may consult each other, at any time, in order to address any issue regarding the interpretation or application of this Memorandum of Understanding and to review the terms of this Memorandum of Understanding to ensure that its terms best meet the mutual objectives set out herein.

The OCIEC and the OCL are each responsible for their own costs associated with the execution and implementation of this Memorandum of Understanding including all joint educational activities.

The OCIEC and the OCL shall maintain control and authority over the materials developed by their respective offices, and shall each be responsible for providing advice on compliance within their respective regimes.

6. Confidentiality

All matters that must be kept confidential under the respective governing regimes of the OCIEC and the OCL shall not be shared or disclosed under this Memorandum of Understanding.

7. Duration

This Memorandum of Understanding will come into force on the day it is signed and remain in force until another memorandum is signed. The terms of this Memorandum of Understanding may be amended by mutual agreement in writing. Either Officer may terminate this Memorandum of Understanding by providing 30 days written notice to the other Officer. All confidentiality provisions remain in force after termination of the Memorandum of Understanding.

8. Legal satus and signature

This Memorandum of Understanding is not legally binding and is signed in duplicate, in both official languages, by an authorized signatory of each party, each copy being equally authentic.

Signed on this 22nd day of March, 2018

space to insert Commissioner's signature
Mario Dion
Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner

Signed on this 22nd day of March, 2018

space to insert Chief Financial Officer's signature
Nancy Bélanger
Commissioner of Lobbying

Protocole d’entente

Entre

Le commissaire aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique
Agissant par l’intermédiaire du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique (ci-après appelé le « CCIE ») et par lui représenté

Et

La commissaire au lobbying du Canada
Agissant par l’intermédiaire du Commissariat au lobbying du Canada (ci-après appelé le « CAL ») et par lui représentée

1. Définition

Aux fins des présentes, en sus des définitions respectives énoncées à l’article 2 de la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts et à l’article 2 de la Loi sur le lobbying, le terme « titulaire de charge publique » doit être interprété comme désignant également les titulaires de charge public principaux ainsi que les titulaire d’une charge publique et les titulaires d’une charge publique désignée, selon la définition de chaque loi.

2. Mandats

Aux termes de la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada, le mandat du CCIE comprend les fonctions assignées au commissaire par la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts ainsi que celles assignées par la Chambre des communes pour régir la conduite des députés.

La Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts a pour objet, entre autres, d’établir des règles claires sur les conflits d’intérêts et l’après-mandat à l’endroit des titulaires de charge publique et d’atténuer la possibilité de conflits entre les intérêts personnels des titulaires de charge publique et leurs fonctions publiques. Selon le Code régissant les conflits d’intérêts des députés, le commissaire est tenu d’organiser des activités afin de renseigner les députés et le public sur son rôle et sur le Code.

Aux termes de la Loi sur le lobbying, le mandat du CAL consiste à assurer la transparence dans les activités de lobbying menées auprès des titulaires d’une charge publique fédérale. Selon la Loi sur le lobbying, le commissaire au lobbying est tenu d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre des programmes d’éducation relatifs aux exigences prévues par la Loi, en vue de sensibiliser le public et en particulier les lobbyistes, leurs clients et les titulaires de charge publique, y compris à l’égard du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes.

3. Objet

Compte tenu de leurs mandats respectifs, de la nature complémentaire des deux régimes pour ce qui est de renforcer la confiance du public à l’égard de l’intégrité du processus décisionnel du gouvernement, et compte tenu du chevauchement des règles s’appliquant à la fois aux lobbyistes et aux titulaires de charge publique, les présentes ont pour objet d’établir un cadre favorisant la collaboration entre le CCIE et le CAL sur les questions d’éducation et de sensibilisation, afin de conseiller les titulaires de charge publique et les lobbyistes relativement aux obligations que leur imposent leurs régimes respectifs, et de faire en sorte que ces questions soient traitées de façon uniforme, claire et précise.

4. Portée des activités

Les activités visent principalement à mieux faire comprendre les obligations découlant de la Loi sur le lobbying, de la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts et du Code régissant les conflits d’intérêts des députés, notamment :
  • contribuer à l’élaboration de matériel éducatif;
  • organiser des ateliers et des symposiums ou y contribuer;
  • organiser des activités convenues par les parties.
On compte parmi les activités visées par les présentes certaines activités entreprises par le CCIE pour aider le CAL à exécuter son mandat, notamment les suivantes :
  • informer certains titulaires de charge publique quittant leurs fonctions qu’il leur est interdit de faire du lobbying pendant cinq ans et leur transmettre les coordonnées du CAL;
  • sur demande, confirmer les dates de départ de certains titulaires de charge publique.
Toute proposition d’activité ou de mesure commune est d’abord approuvée par le CCIE et le CAL. La proposition comprend une description détaillée de l’activité ou de la mesure, le rôle de chaque partie et les coûts estimés.

5. Interprétation et application

En tout temps, le CCIE et le CAL peuvent se consulter pour régler des questions d’interprétation ou d’application des présentes et pour en revoir les paramètres en vue de faciliter au mieux l’atteinte des objectifs communs énoncés aux présentes.

Le CCIE et le CAL assument chacun leurs propres coûts découlant de l’exécution et de l’application des présentes, y compris pour les activités éducatives conjointes.

Le CCIE et le CAL conservent le contrôle et l’autorité sur le matériel conçu par leurs bureaux respectifs et sont chacun responsables de donner des conseils sur la conformité dans leurs régimes respectifs.

6. Confidentialité

Les présentes n’autorisent pas les parties à se transmettre l’une à l’autre ou à dévoiler des renseignements qui, aux termes des régimes respectifs du CCIE et du CAL, sont confidentiels.

7. Durée

Le protocole d’entente entre en vigueur dès sa signature et le demeure jusqu’à la signature d’un nouveau protocole d’entente. Ses paramètres peuvent être modifiés d’un commun accord conclu par écrit. L’un ou l’autre commissaire peut résilier le protocole d’entente sur préavis écrit de 30 jours. Toutes les dispositions relatives à la confidentialité demeurent en vigueur après résiliation.

8. Statut légal et signature

Le protocole d’entente n’est pas juridiquement contraignant et est signé en deux exemplaires, dans les deux langues officielles, par un signataire autorisé de chaque partie, chaque exemplaire étant également authentique.

Signé le 22 mars 2018

space to insert Commissioner's signature
Mario Dion
Commissaire aux conflits d’intérêts
et à l’éthique

Signé le 22 mars 2018

space to insert Chief Financial Officer's signature
Nancy Bélanger
Commissaire au lobbying du Canada